In the spring of 2010, the Oregon Association of School Libraries (OASL) called for the establishment of a committee to write school library standards.  A select group of public and private school teacher-librarians/media specialists from around the state researched and studied the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) guidelines, library standards articulated by other states, and existing grade level library standards from various school districts both in and out of state.   They went through a process of study, synthesis and writing, drawing on the professional and collective wisdom of experts in the area of K-12 library instruction, reading and technology use.  Together, the committee identified four instructional areas necessary for a robust library program:  Information Literacy; Reading Engagement; Social Responsibility and Technology Integration. 

An initial edition of the standards was introduced to board members of the Oregon Association of School Libraries (OASL) for review and comment.  Their recommendations were considered, and the capstone of the entire process is the Oregon School Library Standards.

Teacher-Librarians serving on the committee for the Oregon School Library Standards are:

Linda Bilyeu, Bend/La Pine School District - linda.bilyeu@bend.k12.or.us
Peggy Christensen, Coos Bay Public Schools – peggyc@coos-bay.k12.or.us
Linda Fukasawa, Canby Public School - fukasawl@canby.K12.or.us
Kathryn Harmon, Neahkahnie Public Schools  - kathrynh@neahkahnie.k12.or.us
Shelby Heiberger, Bend/La Pine School District - shelby.heiberger@bend.k12.or.us
Amy Richards, St. John Fisher School - amyr@sjfschool.org
Hazel Smith, Ashland Public Schools hazel.smith@ashland.k12.or.us
Susan Stone, Portland Public Schools - sstone@pps.net
Kate Weber, Lane Education Service District - kweber@lesd.k12.or.us