About Us‎ > ‎

Current OCSS Board

Executive Board: 2017-2018

Screen Shot 2017-09-08 at 11.44.47 PM.png

President: Tim Hart

Classroom teacher Faulconer-Chapman School,

Sheridan, Oregon

MWenzel Headshot

Vice President:  Marcus Wenzel

Teacher in the College of Education at Western Oregon University,

Monmouth, Oregon


Secretary:  Erin Porter

Program Manager, Reading Results,

Portland Oregon

Treasurer:  Justin Wright

Classroom Teacher

Pacific Crest Community School,

Grants Pass, Oregon

Past Treasurer - Cynthia Basye

Educational Consultant

IMG_6661 (1)

Board Member / Newsletter Editor:  Sarah Warsaw

Activities Director, history, and leadership teacher at

Summit High School in Bend, OR.


Past-President:  John M. Zingale

Classroom teacher

Middle school social studies at Vancouver iTech Preparatory,

Vancouver, Washington

Board Member:  Elizabeth (Lizi) Leider

Classroom Teacher

Alder Creek Middle School, Milwaukie, Oregon

Board Member:  Frank White

Classroom Teacher Central High School,

Monmouth, Oregon

Board Member:  Jessica Colburn

Classroom Teacher Lapine Middle School,

Bend, Oregon


Board Member:  David Martinez

Multicultural Curriculum Coordinator, Portland Public Schools,

Portland, Oregon


Board Member:  Michael Torguson

Classroom Teacher Medford Opportunity High School,

Medford, Oregon 


Board Member:  Mike Thissel

Classroom Teacher Central High School,

Monmouth, Oregon 


Board Member:  Carol Glasgow

Classroom Teacher St. Clare School,

Portland, Oregon  

carano headshot

Ken Carano

Assistant Professor of Education

Western Oregon University

Editor, Oregon Journal for the Social Studies


Past President:  Jo Sigmund

Founder and Teacher of the Emerson School, Portland

Past President:  Jo Sigmund

Founder and Teacher of the Emerson School, Portland

Past President - Shawn Daley

Assistant Professor of Education

Concordia University, Portland

Past President - Geoffrey Stuckart

Social Studies Teacher

Central Catholic High School, Portland

Teresa Bulman

Associate Professor, Portland State University

Oregon Geographic Alliance Representative

Andrea Morgan

Social Science Specialist, ODE

Oregon Department of Education Representative


Gayle Thieman

Associate Professor of Education Portland State University

Past President, OCSS

Past President, NCSS

Follow us: