Annual Flower Show

The tradition of an annual flower show started in 1963 when the first Annual Flower Show was held in June at the Lion Hall in Richmond Hill, ON.   Our show has been held in many locations over the years however it is currently held at the Toronto Botanical Garden (TBG) in Toronto.

ONIS members are encouraged to enter their named bloom stalks for judging by American Iris Society (AIS) accredited judges.  The Show Schedule, which outlines the criterion upon which the bloom stalks are judged, is located below. Show credits, awarded for first, second and third place bloom stalks, can be used to buy iris rhizomes at the ONIS Auction and Sale held in August at the TBG.

Photo: Court of Honor from the 2008 show.
From left to right, Seedling 02-06-16, 'Tickle the Ivories', 'Bold Print', I. florentina, 'Satin Cut' and 'Baubles and Beads'.

Below is a list of the ONIS awards presented annually.  The history of each award and previous recipients can be viewed in the sub-pages.
AIS Region 2 also has five awards that are rotated annually between its seven affiliates.

Trophy Name

Iris Classification

AIS Region 2 Awards*
(these are rotated annually between Region 2 affiliates)
Iris Classification

R D Little Trophy

(Queen of the Show)

Best Specimen

  The Ruth B. Blenis Award
 Best of Show - Tall Bearded

Toronto Region Trophy
(Princess of the Show)

Second Best Specimen

  The William McGarvey Beardless Iris Award
 Highest Placed Beardless Iris

F.W. Caulfield Trophy

Highest points in Tall Bearded (TB) class

  The Magdelan Award
 Highest Placed Median Iris

Jean Sanderson Trophy  

Best Canadian Introduction

  The Ethel Anson S. Peckham Award for Historic Iris
 Highest Placed Historic Iris

W.J. Taylor Trophy

Best Seedling

  The Wirtz-Rettig Award for Japanese Iris
 Highest Placed Japanese Iris

Verna Laurin Plaque

Best Historic Iris

  * For the history of these awards click here. 
 AIS Silver Certificate
Exhibitor with the Highest Number of 1st Place Ribbons

 AIS Bronze Certificate
 Exhibitor with the 2nd Highest Number of 1st Place Ribbons
KJ Brewitt,
Mar 17, 2018, 7:22 AM