The Sacraments‎ > ‎

Biblical Definitions

Biblical Definitions

We have composed a list of Biblical words and terms with explanations of their meaning. Hopefully, this will help you have a better understanding of the Word of the Lord.

ABSOLUTION - is when a priest has the power to take away our sins, once he has heard our confession.

BLESSED SACRAMENT - is also known as the Body and Blood of Christ, which refers to the host (bread) and wine - representing the real presence of Jesus Christ in Church.

CATECHESIS - is an education of the Christian faith by word of mouth helping initiate the recipient into Christian life.

CATECHISM - is the religious teaching of Christianity with an introduction to the Holy Sacraments.

CATECHUMENS - is a person receiving instruction on the Christian faith view a to being baptised.

CONFESSION - is when we express our feelings of burden and guilt and our regrets and sorrows for our sins to a priest and when we experience mercy and spiritual healing.

CONTRITION - is the remorse we feel when we have sinned - ie. be it a bad thought, a bad action, a bad spoken word which we are too embarrassed to admit and speak about.

COVENANT - is an agreement. In the Jewish faith, God made several covenants with his people including Abraham, Moses and David.

EUCHARIST - is the sacrament of Holy Communion. It is a re-enactment of the Last Supper where Jesus Christ shared his bread and wine with his disciples and instructed them to do the same in his memory - before his arrest, and eventual crucifixion. 

GENUFLECT - is to kneel, bending the knee or touching one knee to the floor in sign of worship especially when passing the Blessed Sacrament.

GOOD NEWS - also known as the Gospels. In St. Paul’s letters the Good News he referred to was about the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  

GOSPEL - is the Good news, including the revelations and teachings of Jesus Christ and the Apostles, especially the first four books of the New Testament, Matthew, Mark, Luke & John.

HOLY CHALICE - is the vessel/cup which Jesus Christ used at the Last Supper to serve the wine. 

HOMILY - is a sermon/moral talk preached by a priest, on a Biblical religious topic usually related to the gospel of the day.

LITURGY - also known as Divine Liturgy, is a religious rite and a pattern for worship used by Christians.

MARANATHA - is a Greek expression from two Aramaic words 'Maran'athah' that appears in the Bible meaning 'The Lord is Coming!; Come, Lord!, Our Lord has come! or O Lord, come!'

MESSIAHJesus is regarded as the 'Messiah', the anointed one and promised deliverer and saviour of the world. Jesus was to be a king of God's kingdom, and to rule the Jewish people during the Messianic Age. 

PARABLE - is a simple story in prose or verse, as told by Jesus in the Gospel, that illustrates a spiritual or 
moral instructive lesson.

PENANCE - is a punishment/discipline imposed by the Church for a sin you have committed, regretted and confessed to, with the intention of amendment ie. prayer.

PENITENTIAL - is showing and demonstrating penance.

PROPHECY - is a messages communicated by God which is an interpretations, revelation or a predictions of what will happen in the future.

RITE - is a formal act/religious ceremony procedure performed in a Christian Church. For example the rite of Baptism.

SACRAMENT - is also known as Holy Sacrament and is a visible sign instituted by Jesus Christ to symbolise grace through a sacred act.

SCRIPTURE - is also known as Holy Scripture, the sacred writings of the Bible including both the Old & New Testaments. It also refers to a particular passage from the Bible.

THE WORD - also known as the Scriptures, the Bible, or the Gospels representing divine revelations & often called: The Word of God.

The Ten Commandments in simple terms

1. I am the Lord your God - you shall have no other gods besides Me.

2. You shall not take the Lord's name in vain.

3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.

4. Honour your father and your mother.

5. You shall not kill.

6. You shall not commit adultery.

7. You shall not steal.

8. You shall not bear false witness.

9. You shall not covet your neighbour's wife.

10. You shall not covet anything that belongs to your neighbour.