Nutmeg Home

The Nutmeg Steering Committee is excited to announce the 

2018 Nutmeg Book Award Winners!


The Nutmeg Book Award Committee is proud to present the 2019 Nutmeg Nominees!

Please refer to the pages of this website for specific information, links, and printable flyers for each Nutmeg level:

Elementary Grade 2-4

                                   Intermediate Grade 4-6

 Grade 7-8  

High School Grade 9-12

About the Nutmeg Book Award:  The Nutmeg Book Award encourages children in grades 2-12 to read quality literature and to choose their favorite from a list of nominated titles. Jointly sponsored by the Connecticut Library Association (CLA) and the Connecticut Association of School Librarians (CASL), the Nutmeg Committee is comprised of children's librarians and school library media specialists who are members of our sponsoring organizations.  

There are four levels of Nutmeg:

Elementary Award:  Grades 2-4 (15 nominees each year)
Intermediate Award:  Grades 4-6 (10 nominees each year)
Teen Award:  Grades 7-8 (10 nominees each year)
High School Award:  Grades 9-12 (10 nominees each year)

We've listened to your feedback!  Starting with the 2020 lists there will be new category and grade levels for the Nutmeg Book Award. 

Elementary Grades 2-3 Nutmeg Award
Intermediate Grades 4-6 Nutmeg Award
Middle School Grades 7-8 Nutmeg Award
High School Grades 9-12 Nutmeg Award

Our FAQs page will answer many of the questions that you may have.  Additional questions about Nutmeg can be sent to the 2018 steering chair: Anne Porier

The Order Form for the 2019 Promotional Materials is available here

                                                                                                       Follow Nutmeg Book Award on Facebook & 
                                                                                                                 #nutmegaward on Twitter!!