Mission & Partners

The National Astronomy Consortium (NAC) is a program led by the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) and Associated Universities Inc., (AUI) in partnership with the National Society of Black Physicists (NSBP), and a number of minority and majority universities to increase the numbers of students from underrepresented groups and those otherwise overlooked by the traditional academic pipeline into STEM or STEM-related careers.  

To contact the NAC please send an email to nac4stem@gmail.com

NAC Leads Location Faculty / Contact
National Radio Astronomy Observatory Charlottesville, VA Kartik Sheth
Associated Universities Inc. Washington, DC John Mester
National Society of Black Physicists Washington, DC Paul Gueye

NAC Advisory Board Alfred (Howard University), Boyd (GSFC), Centrella (GSFC), Evans (Uva), Giles (NRAO), Benjamin, Holtzman (UW-Madison), Sheth (NRAO), Strolger (STScI), Paglione (CUNY), Walters (SCSU), Mills (NRAO)

# Partner Institutions Location Faculty Member Faculty 2 Faculty 3
1 Benedict College Columbia, SC Fouzi Arramash

2 Borough of Manhattan Community College New York, NY Barry McKernan

3 College of Staten Island Staten Island, NY Emily Rice

4 Dillard University New Orleans, LA Abdalla Darwish

5 Goddard Space Flight Center Greenbelt, MD Joan Centrella Padi Boyd
6 Hampton University Hampton, VA Paul Gueye

7 Harvard University Cambridge, MA John Johnson

8 Howard University Washington, DC Marcus Alfred

9 Hunter College New York, NY Kelle Cruz

10 Lehman College New York, NY Matt O' Dowd

11 NC A&T Greensboro, NC Abdellah Ahmidouch

12 Norfolk State University Norfolk, VA Wendy Hinton

13 NYC College of Technology New York, NY Viviana Acquaviva

14 Ohio State University Columbus, OH Paul Martini Todd Thompson
15 PING Program Greenbank, WV Tim Spuck

16 Prairie View A&M University Prarie View, TX Premkumar Saganti

17 Rutgers University New Brunswick, NJ Andrew Baker

18 South Carolina State University Orangeburg, SC Donald Walters

19 Space Telescope Science Institute Baltimore, MD Lou Strolger Sheryl Bruff Lisa Frattare
20 Texas Southern University Houston, TX Donald Vrinceanu

21 Tougaloo College Jackson, MS Santanu Banarjee

22 University of District of Columbia Washington, DC H. Seyoum

23 University of Maryland College Park, MD Stuart Vogel  Ashlee Wilkins Katie Jameson
24 University of Virginia Charlottesville, VA Aaron Evans Nitya Kallivayalil
25 University of Wisconsin Madison, WI Eric Hooper  Eric Wilcots Maya Holtzman
26 West Virginia University Morgantown, WV Maura McLaughlin D.J. Pisano
27 York College  Jamaica, NY Tim Paglione