Gateshead Philatelic Society

About the Society

The Society was founded on 16th March 1948 and hosted its first convention in 1950. Mr John Jefferies presented the President’s Chain of Office to the society in the 1968-1969 season, during his first term as President. The society holds annual competitions for members who compete for four trophies: The Stephenson Cup for the Open Class; the Thematic Shield; The Jubilee Cup for the Postal History Competition and the Restricted Trophy for members who have not previously won a competition.

Contact Details

For further details, please contact our secretary at 162 Canterbury Road, Newton Hall Estate, Durham DH1 5XT


Meetings are held at the Joseph Swan Academy, Saltwell Road South, Gateshead NE9 6LE on the 2nd Tuesday of each Month, September through May Inclusive starting at 6.30pm and finishing by 8.30pm.

Please click on this link for a map showing the location of our meeting venue in Bing Maps





12 September

Members’ Night – Recent Acquisitions

10 October

Overprints of the World – Dave Foster

14 November

The Holyhead to Kingston Packet – Ken Mitchell, NEPA President

12 December

Bulgaria – Veronica Matthews





09 January

Members’ Night -Please note this meeting may be held on an alternative date

13 February

Competition Night and Members’ Letter “V”

13 March

The Great War – Mike Gibson

10 April

President’s Night – Frank Carroll

28 April

NEPA Convention Bowburn, Durham DH6 5AT

08 May

AGM and Thematic Night – Val Beeken