Darlington Philatelic Society

About the Society

The Darlington Philatelic Society was inaugurated on the 8th December 1924 at the King's Head Hotel in Northgate. The first president was Sir R. A. Pease, from 1924 to 1928. Since then the Society have met continually and currently have an active membership of over thirty members. It celebrated its 50th Anniversary in 1974 and hosted the NEPA Convention in that year. On its 75th Anniversary the Society hosted NEPA's 50th Convention.

The Society has a Members library and our meetings include regular displays, auctions, competitions, buying and selling, social evenings and a Christmas quiz. Prospective members are welcome to attend any meeting.

Contact Details

For further details, please contact our secretary Mr B Jones on 01388 663165


Meetings are held in the Darlington Cricket and Athletics Club, South Terrace, Darlington DL1 5JD on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month, starting at 8.00pm and finish by 10.00pm





11 August

Dealers’ Evening

25 August

Members’ Night

08 September

Open Evening, Subscriptions Due

22 September


23 September

Visit to Stockton PS

13 October

Open Evening

27 October

Open Evening (Brains Trust)

10 November

Guest Speaker – Joseph Iredale

24 November


08 December

Christmas Buffet and Quiz



12 January

Jennifer’s Table

26 January

Steve Dixon  - Sudan, the first 80 years

09 February


23 February

President DPS

09 March

Open Evening

23 March

Programme Discussion

13 April


22 April

NEPA Convention Bowburn, Durham DH6 5AT

27 April

Visit by Stockton PS

11 May

Mike Mood – NEPA President

25 May


08 June

Competition – 4 Sheets Only – The Letter “M”

22 June

Terry Pickering – Japanese POW Mail

13 July


27 July

Charity Auction for Great North Air Ambulance

10 August

Dealers’ Evening

24 August

Open Evening