High School Honor Band Festival

The NEIBA High School Honor Band Festival is held annually on the first Saturday in December, in conjunction with the Middle School Honor Band Festival . The High School Honor Bands consist of two identical 125-member Concert Bands, the King Band and the Sousa Band, with students selected from approximately 60 schools across NE Iowa. Students are nominated by Band Directors and selected by a panel of educators who take into consideration their participation in All-State Auditions, previous accomplishments, and solo/private study. Each school is guaranteed their top-ranked student* to ensure participation from all schools that are interested. Students who are selected for participation in All-State are not eligible for the NEIBA Honor Bands. Upon arrival at the festival, woodwind and brass sections complete a Chair Placement Audition while the percussionists have a sectional with their conductor. *This is dependent upon instrumentation in the bands.

In 2016, a total of 415 students were nominated from 59 different schools for a total of 249 spots. Just over 50% of those nominations were students who auditioned for All-State.

The 2018 Honor Band Festival will take place on Saturday, December 1st, at Oelwein High School. The guest conductors for this year are: Mr. Steve Stickney (Mt. Mercy University) and Ms. Megan Cooney (St. Ambrose University).

For more information, contact High School Honor Band Chair – Deron Jimmerson – at (319) 848-5340 x2073, or djimmerson@crprairie.org