Web Sites

Book Awards
Randolph Caldecott Award

This award is given annually to artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. This award has been given every year since 1938. The gold medal is the overall winner, while several books may receive the Honor award, which is silver. It is named after Randolph Caldecott, a19th-century English illustrator.

This award is given annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. This has been awarded every year since 1922. The gold medal is the winner overall, while several others may be given an Honor medal, which is silver in color.It is named after John Newbery, an 18th-century English bookseller. It is the oldest children's book award in the world.


Learn to read with phonics. Interactive alphabet with games, plays, non-fiction, poetry, folktales, and other stories. Hear them read aloud or read on your own.

Story Place

 Children's digital stories and activities for pre-school and elementary. Alphabetical listing of themes with stories, activities, take-home and parent's activities, and reading lists. Click on the Book Hive, a guide to children's literature.

Internet Safety and CyberBullying

These sites offer much information about keeping safe on the Internet and also about cyberbullying (bullying through the Internet). There are many games to play and information for adults and teachers so that you can have productive conversations about being safe online.

SafeKids Online Safety Quiz       Online safety and cyberbullying with Garfield the cat - the Professor Garfield Foundation

Brainpop bullying video on Youtube            Stop Cyberbullying             I Keep Safe            Wired Kids            CyberSmart