Awards Program

NM-NBCT Seeking Nominations for Annual Awards

The network is looking to recognize those people, groups and organizations that have made contributions to the NBCTs throughout the state and have supported the work of NBCTs and the network. We are asking for nominations in four different categories:

  • “Friend of National Board Network” is an individual or organization who notably supports NBCTs and /or candidates in the process.
  • Service to NMN-NBCT” is an individual who has made significant contributions to the network and its mission.
  • “Administrative Support” is any administrator or administrative team who outstandingly supports National Board Certification in their school or schools.
  • “Capacity Building” is a district or organization who has worked to develop NBCTs in underserved areas of the state.

 All nominations need to have a short writing explaining why the nominee is deserving of the recognition. This will help the committee in selection. Award nominations are due by January 1st, and should be sent to Kevin Balder, 10508 Trevino Loop NW, Albuquerque, NM 87114, or electronically sent to Kevin at Any questions, please call Kevin at (505) 898-6127  (home) or (505)823-2327       ext. 450 (work).


                                                                                               Past Recipients of Network Awards


Friend to NMNBCT Network

2010: Sandia Labs

2011: State Farm

2012: Jean Casey

2013: Ellen Bernstein and ATF

2014: NM Educator’s Federal Credit Union and Rose Mitchell, UNM

2015: Center for Hands On Learning, Representative Jim Smith, Senator John Sapien

2016: Casey Sovo


Administrator of the Year

2010: Jo Ann Coffee, La Cueva

2011: Cathy Ferris

2012: Bobbie Gutierrez, SF Schools Superintendent

2013: Patricia Miller, Superintendent of Ft. Sumner Schools and Sandra Fernandez, SR Marmon Principal

2014: Lillian Torrez, Questa Schools Superintendent

2015: Dr. Michael Stanton, nex+Gen Principal

2016: APS Team: Jill Vice (John Baker), Gene Saavedra ( George I Sanchez Community School),

            Mary Tarango (21st Century Charter School), Michelle Allen (Volcano Vista)


Capacity Building

2010: Kay Hannum and Hobbs Schools

2011: Karen Couch and Moriarty Schools

2012: Gadsden Schools

2013: Rio Rancho Schools, Grants Schools, and Belen Schools

2014; Gene Schmidt and Los Alamos Public Schools

2015: Gallup School District, Four Corners Area

2016: Taos, Santa Fe, Cuba


Service Award

2010: Evelyn Sanchez

2011: Pat Graff

2012: Michelle Accardi and Michelle Allen

2013: Mary McGowan and Paul Roensch

2014: Peggy Jackson and Lori Hagen

2015: Bianca Sapien, Mark Johnson

2016: Kathleen Pittman, Kevin Balder


We have also recognized APS and the state for ranking in the top tiers for achievement and percentage of new NBCTs, as well as plaques for outgoing board members and representatives.



Violeta Djordjevic,
Apr 9, 2011, 8:09 PM