LEDC Announces Award Winners at Annual Meeting

posted Oct 26, 2012, 9:58 AM by News & Citizen

by Mickey Smith

HYDE PARK – At their most attended annual meeting in recent years, the Lamoille Economic Development Corporation (LEDC) gave out their two most prestigious awards to community members known for helping out in any way they can.

Hyde Park resident Dan Young was awarded the annual Brooks-Potter Award for Exceptional Community Service for his efforts in the greater Hyde Park community.  Presenter Judy Clark, of Applecreek Farm, described the work he does through the Hyde Park Second Congregational Church, as well as all the time he puts into Hyde Park’s four annual events – the Think Spring! plant sale; the Ice Cream Social, Hyde Park Home Day and the Holiday Lighting Ceremony.

Clark said Young uses his skills as a Master Gardener to help out whereever he can, and is involved in learning about bio-char (a form of charcoal that can help clean/recharge soils).

Upon receiving the award Young said when he first arrived in Hyde Park he came to marry his wife, Carol Young and didn’t expect to become very involved, but the community made it so easy for him to get involved.

The Brooks-Potter Award is given each year to someone who goes above and beyond in their commitment to service for the community.  It was originally named after former Hyde Park resident Caddy Brooks, and upon his death in 2001 Chris Potter’s name (also of Hyde Park) was added to the award as well.

Radio Vermont and WLVB owner Ken Squier became just the second person to earn the Howard Manosh Lifetime Achievement Award. (Howard, himself, was the first)The owner of WLVB and the rest of the stations of Radio Vermont, was honored for everything his stations do to help the community, most notably the annual action for the Vermont Symphony Orchestra.  Johnson State College’s Jim Black presented the award to Squier. Black is the incoming chair of LEDC.

Squier, a self-described “newcomer” to the area was the first person to be given the award since the inaugural winner and namesake Howard Manosh.  When the award was first presented, LEDC announced they did not want the award to become an annual bestowment, instead they wanted to save it for when someone is specially fitting of the honor.