New Hartford has a rich history. Col. Jedediah Sanger arrived penniless in 1788. He decided to move westward in search of greater opportunity and adventure. Sanger selected our present village to settle in because of its excellent farm land, ample supply of water and close proximity to other established settlements. After building a shelter Sanger traveled to Philadelphia and purchased
1,000 acres of land at $.50 per acre on credit from George Washington and George Clinton. The following year he shrewdly sold a little over half the land on the east side of the Sauquoit Creek to Joseph Higbee (Higby) at $1.00 per acre.
In 1789 Co. Sanger brought his family here. The same year he constructed a sawmill, followed by a grist mill in 1790. Before the grist mill was built, the inhabitants of New Hartford has to travel by horseback or on foot with their grain to Palatine or Whitestown. The mills used the clean, clear rushing waters of the Sauquoit Creek. Also in this year, the first mail route between New Hartford and Canajoharie was completed. Thanks to Sanger, the colony grew rapidly.
Today's living is tomorrow's history.