St. Thomas reigns

St. Thomas’ Primary School Reigns Supreme – 2016 Gulf Insurance Interprimary School Champions


Charlestown Nevis, SKN PULSE, Thursday 31 March 2016 – Tis was the day and be it sun or rain the youths reprensenting the eight primary schools in the Interprimary Gulf Insurance Championships ran their hearts out. Under the patronage of Ms. Ranielle Arthurton, a packed Elquemedo Willet Park on Wednesday 30 March 2016 experienced athletic prowess at work as athlete after athelete impressed on-lookers in the various events. With suspense growing throughout the park early and late into the events, the expectations were high as the competition was tight.

St. Thomas’, Ivor Walters Primary, Charlestown and Elizabeth Pemberton Primary were the schools that stamped their authority early and knocked the wind out of the Joycelyn Liburd Primary School sail.

With numerous lead changes, schools had their work cut out for them.  As the meet progressed, the trend from last year continued as the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School rumbled with the A Division category for much of the day while Ivor Walters showed up to the party. They were placed as high as first with no signs of easing off. While the St. Thomas’ Primary School held a firm grip on first position after the conclusion of the 800 metre events. Thereafter, the confidence, exhibited by the athletes of the St. Thomas’ Primary School sealed their faith while Ivor Walters Primary School and Charlestown Primary were able to pressure the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School as they secured second and third place respectively. A Division Champions ammasses a told of 182 points while the B Division Champions amassed 152 points.


(Photo Caption: Champions Celebrate And Pose For Picture)

The display of talent, good sportsmanship, good baton execution and thrilling entertainment are clear indicators that Athletics in Nevis could go places.

Top performers of the meet from our vantage point included: K’Van-J Maynard (Joycelyn Liburd Primary School), Niza’ Iah Skeete ( Charlestown Primary), Malchiel Dore (St. Thomas’ Primary School), Joric Daniel (Joycelyn Liburd Primary School), Queleel Roberts (Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School),  T’Anna Liburd (St. James Primary School)  and Tywane Roberts ( St. Thomas’ Primary School), Kenron Freeman (Ivor Walters Primary School), Tray Hamilton (Charlestown Primary School)