TT Primary School 3K

Tobago's Leander, POS Lewis win National Primary School 3K Road Race    Photo-Album available here    Photo Slideshow below

Roxborough Anglican's Tsaianne Leander thrilled local fans at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet, Tobago when she won the National Primary School 3K Road Race for the 2nd time. Leander, who first won the National crown in 2007, completed the course in 11:27.60 to edge Mekela Baptiste of D'Abadie Government (St. George East) and Donicia Antoine of Mont Video Government (North East).
Earlier, Keyon Lewis of Lower Morvant Government (Port of Spain) won the Boys Race in 10:37.50 beating Mark Davis of Success R.C. (Port of Spain) by about six seconds. Darryl Charles of Cumana A.C. (North East) was third. Hakeem Price of Scarborough Methodist was the first Tobagonian boy to finish the course and took the Boys 13-15 Crown.
Tobagonian runners also won the other Champion Age Group Trophies. Last year's National Girls Champion, Tenneil Roberts of Moriah Government, won the Girls Under-13 Age Group after finishing 4th Overall while Queen Collette of Hope Anglican won the Girls 13-15 Age Group. Shaquille Mitchell of Roxborough Anglican won the Boys Under-13 Age Group. 
Mason Hall Government and Roxborough Anglican tied for the Trophy awarded to school wil the most finishers with thirteen students each completing the race. Tobago won the Champion District Trophy after placing 23 of the Top 50 Male Finishers and 27 of the Top 50 Female finishers. The National Primary School 3K Road Race will be held in the South East Education District in 2011.
The event, which was first held in 1995, was staged in Tobago for only the second time. Chief Secretary of the Tobago House of Assembly, the Honourable Orville London, and Secretary for Education, Youth Affairs and Sport, the Honourable Claudia Groome-Duke, officially started the race at 11:00 am.
Attention will now shift to the National Primary School Track and Field Championships, which will be held on Wednesday 19th May at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Tobago is the two-time reigning National District Champion.
         NAME                            SCHOOL 

Trinidad & Tobago National Primary Schools 3K Road Race held on 29th April 2010, Tobago

      **** FEMALE: OVERALL SCHOOLS 3K ****
       1 Tsaianne LEANDER       ROXBOROUGH ANGLICAN 
       2 Mekela BAPTISTE         D'ABADIE GOV'T      
       3 Donicia ANTOINE          MONTE VIDEO GOV'T    
      **** MALE: OVERALL SCHOOLS 3K ****
       1 Keyon LEWIS                LOWER MORVANT GOV'T 
       2 Mark DAVIS                  SUCCESS RC          
       3 Darryl CHARLES           CUMANA A.C.          
      **** GIRLS U13:  3k Awards ****
       1 Tenneil ROBERTS              MORIAH GOV'T        
       2 Zinara LESLEY                  MARABELLA GOV'T     
      **** BOYS U13:  3k Awards ****
       1 Shaquille MITCHELL      ROXBOROUGH ANGLICAN  
       2 Emmanuel DANIEL        SIGNAL HILL GOV'T   
       3 Bryan WILLIAMS           MALABAR GOV'T        

      **** GIRLS 13-15:  3k Awards ****
       1 Queen COLLETTE        HOPE ANGLICAN       
       2 Mariah PICKERING       MALABAR GOV'T       
       3 Tia TRIM                      SCARBOROUGH METHODIST 

      **** BOYS 13-15:  3k Awards ****
       1 Hakeem PRICE            SCARBOROUGH METHODIST
       2 Enitan LESLEY            MARABELLA GOV'T     
       3 Kevern MATTHEWS     MASON HALL GOV'T