TT Cross Country Series kicks off

By Clayton Clarke
Trinidad and Tobago Cross Country Series kicks off
PORT OF SPAIN; Trinidad and Tobago: Jean Paul Drakes and Dawnel Collymore emerged as winners of the NAAA development cross country race in Maucaripe, Chaguaramas over the weekend.
Drakes (Memphis Pioneers Athletic Club) took the men’s 4.8 kilometre race in 19 minutes 22 seconds ahead of veterans Curtis Brereton, 49 years( Neon Trackers) 19:56 and Victorio Hawkins, 52 (Hill View), 20:26. 15 year old Collymore (Memphis) was the top female clocking 20:59 seconds to finish fifth overall.
In the 1.6 km Boys’ race Nicholas Landeau (Belmont Boys Secondary) took the gold in 4 minutes 49 seconds ahead of school mates Jevon Joseph (5:13) and Tyrone Browne (5:37) .
Jerminise Hernandez (Memphis) won the girls’ race 6:24 ahead of Mekele Bapiste (Dabadie Progressive) 6:47 and Jeunice Maxime (Memphis) 6:49.
The cross country races signal the start of the 2010 track and field season.
The next race is in Mt. Irvine ( Host of 2010 NACAC Cross Country Championships in March) in Tobago on Saturday 15 November.
The Trinidad and Tobago Cross Country Championships are set for 22nd November at the Sevilla Golf Course in Couva.