Lucas & Quow win awards

By Clayton Clarke

Trinidad & Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) Sportsman/woman Awards - 29th December 2009

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad: Renny Quow and Josanne Lucas, on Tuesday (Dec 29), won the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards for 2009.

Quow took the title after copping bronze in the men’s 400m finals at the World Championships of Athletics in Berlin, Germany in August. He clocked 45.02 seconds to finish third behind the US pair of Lashawn Merritt and Jeremy Wariner.

Lucas also won bronze in Berlin in the women’s 400m hurdles finals in 53.20s, a new national record.

Another world championship performer, Jehue Gordon walked away with the top Junior Sportsman of the year honor following his fourth place finish in the men’s 400m hurdles final in Berlin. Gordon missed the bronze by 0.03 seconds clocking 48.26 seconds to become the second fastest junior (under 20) athlete ever in the one lap hurdles event.

It was the second successive year that track and field took the top honours at the annual awards. In 2008 double Olympic silver medalist Richard Thompson won the men’s award while NCAA indoor and outdoor sprint champion Kelly Ann Baptiste took the women’s equivalent.

The National Association of Athletic Administration (NAAA) of Trinidad and Tobago 2009 Athlete of the year awards take place on Saturday 2nd January 2010.

List of awardees:
Sports man of the year- Renny Quow (Track and field)
Sportswoman of the year- Josanne Lucas (Track and field)
Junior Sportsman of the year- Jehue Gordon (Track and field)
Junior Sportswoman of the year- Kimberly John-Williams (Swimming)
Sports Personality of the year- Kerry Baptiste (Football)
Alexander B. Chapman Award- Darren Ganga (Cricket)
IOC Women in Sport Nominee- Dr. Iva Gloudon - Director of UWI -St. Augustine Sports and Physical Education Center (SPEC).