Wayamba University of Sri Lanka


 The Wayamba Campus of the Rajarata University of Sri Lanka was established on the recommendation of a Committee consisting of Hon. Wishva Warnapala, Deputy Minister of Education & Higher Education as Chairman. This Committee was appointed by the Hon. Minister of Education and Higher Education Richard Pathiranna on 22nd December,1994 to report on the Affiliated University Colleges. On the recommendation of the above Committee, nine Affiliated University Colleges spread out in various provinces of the country were merged to form two National Universities, the Rajarata and Sabaragamuwa Universities of Sri Lanka on 07th November 1996.
                        The Affiliated University College of the North Western province which consisted of two academic sections namely; Home Science and Nutrition and the Agriculture, originally affiliated to the Universities of Kelaniya and Peradeniya respectively, were merged to from the Wayamba Campus and established in terms of the provision of the Sections 18 and 47 (1) of the University Act. No. 16 of 1978 and Campus Board Ordinance No 3 of 1995.
                       As provided in the Act referred to above, two Faculties were set up to form the Wayamba Campus namely, the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and the Faculty of Applied Sciences I , each with three Departments of Study.
                       The Faculty of Agricultural Sciences constituted the Departments of Plantation Management, Horticultural Sciences and Food Technology and Agricultural Engineering, while the Faculty of Applied Sciences I consisted of the Departments of Mathematical Sciences , Industrial Management and Computer Studies, Nutrition and Community Resources Management.
                        A committee appointed in 1999 made recommendations to upgrade the Wayamba Campus to a fully-fledged University. Based on the recommendations of this committee, the Wayamba University was established in August 1999 with four Faculties namely Faculty of Applied Sciences, Faculty of Business Studies and Finance, Faculty of Agriculture and Plantation Management and Faculty of Livestock, Fisheries and Nutrition.