University of Ruhuna

The University of Ruhuna was established by a Special Presidential Decree on 1st September 1978, as Ruhuna University College, fulfilling a long cherished desire of the people of Southern Sri Lanka. Initially it constituted with four faculties, namely, Agriculture, Arts, Medicine and Science.

The Faculties of Agriculture and Science were located in the premises of Technical College at Meddawatte, Matara, whereas the Faculty of Arts was located in the premises of Teachers' Training College at Eliyakanda, Matara. These three faculties were initially affiliated to Universities of Peradeniya, Kelaniya and Colombo respectively. The Faculty of Medicine was affiliated to the University of Colombo and the first batch of students who enrolled for the M.B.B.S. Degree were sent to the Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo. This affiliation was continued until the Ruhuna University College was upgraded to a fully-fledged University on 1st February 1984. A Faculty of Engineering was established in  Hapugala (Galle) in 1999. The most recent additions to the list of faculties in  the University of Ruhuna are Faculty of Managenet & Finance and the Faculty of Fisheries & Marine Sciences & Technology which were set up in 2003 and 2005, respectively. Thus the University presently comprises seven faculties.

Faculties of Science, 'Managenet & Finance', 'Fisheries & Marine Sciences & Technology' and 'Humanities & Social Sciences' are located in the main campus premises at Wellamadama (Matara) and Faculties of Agriculture and Medicine are located in Kamburupitiya (Matara) and Karapitiya (Galle), respectively. The central administration unit of the University is also located at the University Complex, which is situated in a scenic site at Wellamadama with an extent of about 72 acres. It is bordered by the sea and paddy fields and is in close proximity to Dondra, the Southern tip of Sri Lanka.

The University offers basic degree programmes in their respective disciplines. Depending on the facilities available, M.A. M.B.A. M.Sc. M.Phil. and Ph.D Degrees. In addition Diploma and Certificate Courses are offered in various disciplines.

A total of 272 students were enrolled for the bachelors' degree programmes during the first Academic Year (1978/79) and at the commencement of the 2006/07 Academic Year it has increased to 6752 for all faculties.