university of Peradeniya

                The University of Peradeniya operates under the provisions of the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978 and the Universities (Amendment) Act No. 7 of 1985.

At the apex of the university organization (see Chart I) is the minister in charge of higher education, who represents the central government. The minister is responsible for the general direction of university education and the
administration of the Act. The powers and responsibilities of the minister are defined in the Act (Part III, Sections 19 & 20). Under the provisions of the Act the minister has three sets of powers in regard to university organization:

  To issue general written directives to the University Grants Commission (UGC) in pursuance of national policy in matters such as finance, university places and media of instruction, (ii) to direct the UGC to order all or any of the activities or the administration of any university to be investigated and reported upon and also to take such remedial action as the minister may consider necessary, and (iii) emergency powers of intervention in the event of complete breakdown of law and order in any university.

The Act provides for the creation of the UGC in order to mediate between the central government and the universities. The UGC consists of a chairman, a vice chairman and five other members all of whom are appointed by the president of the republic. The main functions of the UGC under the Act are:

i the allocation of funds to higher educational institutions
ii the coordination of teaching and research programs in higher educational institutions
iii ensuring the acceptance of the obligation of conforming to nationally formulated policies in such matters as university admissions and the languages of instruction in the higher educational institutions. The powers, duties and functions of the UGC are detailed in Parts I & II of the Act.

Another significant feature in the organization structure is the University Service Appeals Board (USAB). (Part xi of the Act). It is a quasi-judicial body independent of the UGC and the universities, and consists of three members - chairman, vice-chairman and another member-all of whom are appointed by the Minister. The USAB serves as a final board of appeal against decisions of the UGC and the University Councils in all disciplinary matters and in the redress of grievances with regard to appointments, promotions and related matters.

The Act also provides for the establishment of a Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Directors (CVCD). The aims of the CVCD are: (i) to provide opportunities for universities to discuss matters of common interest and for advising the UGC on such matters (ii) to study the problems and needs of universities, and their relations with other educational institutions,UGC, the government and the community (iii) to offer advice to universities on matters of general concern to such Institutions (iv) to act as a liaisoning body to coordinate matters of common interest of universities with the UGC (v) to collect and disseminate information about universities and (vi) to do all such other acts and things, whether incidental to the aims aforesaid or not, as may be requisite in order to further the objects of the CVCD.

All Vice-Chancellors of Universities are members of the CVCD. The Chairman of the CVCD is elected by the committee from among its members to hold office for a period of one year.

To facilitate the work of the CVCD it may appoint committees comprising Vice- Chancellors and other members of the universities to report on or to oversee activities in areas such as academic affairs, student affairs, manpower resources, planning, statistics, research, industry relations, medical matters, overseas aid and international relations. Besides the CVCD sponsors inter-university meetings and seminars.

The CVCD advises the UGC on matters of common interest and the UGC seeks the advice of the CVCD on matters affecting the universities. Joint meetings of the CVCD and the UGC, presided over by the Chairman UGC, are held monthly.

In regard to university administration, each university has a Chancellor, officers and authorities that make plans, decisions and monitor the implementation of such decisions in the overall management of the University.

The Chancellor is the ceremonial head of the University and is appointed by the President of the Republic for a period of five years.