The topic of network control and optimization has been of increasing importance in many networking application domains, such as mobile and fixed access networks, computer networks, social networks, and transportation networks. These all require tools (both conceptual and

algorithmic) for a better and more efficient control operation, for optimization of their performance, and/or for a better understanding of the relationships between entities that may be cooperative or act selfishly, and in an uncertain and possibly adversarial environment.

The goal of this international forum is to bring together researchers from different areas with theoretical expertise in game theory, control, and optimization, and with applications in the domains listed above.

Topics of interest

Topics of interest to NetGCooP include (but are not limited to):

Resource allocation in networks

Optimization and control theoretical tools in networking

Algorithmic game theory

Learning in games, multi-agent learning

Computation of Nash, correlated, and market equilibria

Hierarchical optimization and games in networking

Incentives for cooperation between network entities

Network pricing

Preference elicitation and winner determination in combinatorial auctions

Flow and congestion control in networks

Control of queuing networks

Networked control systems

Stochastic control

Dynamical systems and stochastic approximation

Scheduling transmissions in networking

Transport networks

Optimization of wireless networks

Grid applications

Trust and reputation management

Formation of social networks

Competitive routing

Biological network

Important Dates

  • Deadline for submissions: September 3rd, 2012

  • Notification of acceptance: October 4th, 2012

  • Camera ready version: October 15, 2012

    • Conference dates: November 28-30, 2012

Plenary Speakers

  • Prof Tamer Basar

  • Prof Jean Walrand

  • Prof Sylvain Sorin


  • Tansu Alpcan (tansu.alpcan@unimelb.edu.au)

  • Tania Jimenez (tania.jimenez@univ-avignon.fr)

Click here for the IEEE Control Systems Society home page

General Chairs

  • Ariel Orda (Israel Institute of Technology)

  • Francesco De Pellegrini (Create-Net)

Program Chairs

    • Tansu Alpcan (Univ. of Melbourne, Australia)

    • Tania Jimenez (Univ. of Avignon, France)

    • Samson Lasaulce (CNRS-Supélec, France)

Web Chair

    • Vineeth S Varma (L2S-Supélec, France)

Publicity Chair

  • Giacomo Bacci (Princeton Univ., USA)

  • Mérouane Debbah (Supelec, France)

Local Chair

    • Yezekael Hayel (Univ. of Avignon, France)

Steering Committee

  • Eitan Altman (Inria Sophia-Antipolis, France), Chair

  • Tijani Chahed (Telecom SudParis, France), Co-Chair

  • Daniel Kofman (Telecom ParisTech, France)

  • Alexandre Proutière (Microsoft, France)

  • Sergei Foss (Heriot-Watt, UK)

  • Laurent Massoulié (Technicolor, France)

  • Peter Glynn (Stanford University)

  • Sem Borst (TUE, The Netherlands)

  • Onno Boxma (TUE, The Netherlands)

  • Eilon Solan (Tel-Aviv Univ, Israel)

  • Tamer Basar (UIUC, USA)

  • Sylvain Sorin (Univ Paris 6, France)

  • Tony Ephremides (Univ of Maryland, USA)

  • Nahum Shimkin (Technion, Israel)

  • Bruno Tuffin (INRIA Rennes, France)

Program Committee

    • Ivo Adan, TUE

    • Ashraf Al Daoud, The German-Jordanian University

    • Konstantin Avrachenkov, INRIA

    • Giacomo Bacci, University of Pisa

    • Giulio Cantarella, Univ. Salerno

    • Jose Correa, Univ. of Chile

    • Subhrakanti Dey, University of Melbourne

    • Rachid El-Azouzi, Univ. of Avignon

    • Jocelyne Elias, Univ. Paris 5

    • Atilla Eryilmaz, OSU, Columbus

    • Dieter Fiems, Ghent University

    • Majed Haddad, Univ. of Avignon

    • Yezekael Hayel, Univ. of Avignon

    • Jianwei Huang, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

    • Rahul Jain, USC

    • Eduard Jorswieck, TU-Dresden

    • Hisao Kameda, Univ. of Tsukuba

    • Iordanis Koutsopoulos, University of Thessaly

    • Lasse Leskela, Univ. of Jyväskylä

    • Michel Mandjes, UVA

    • D. Manjunath, IIT Bombay

  • Fabio Martignon, Univ. Paris-Sud

  • Angelia Nedich, Univ. of Illinois

  • José Niño-Mora, Carlos III Univ. of Madrid

  • Lacra Pavel, Univ. of Toronto

  • Balakrishna J. Prabhu, CNRS

  • Walid Saad, University of Miami

  • Slawomir Stanczak, TU-Berlin and Fraunhofer HHI

  • Yutaka Takahashi, Kyoto Univ.

  • Hwee-Pink Tan, Institute for Infocomm Research

  • Sabine Wittevrongel, Ghent Univ.

  • Eugen Dedu (University of Franche-Comté, France)

  • Constantin Morarescu (University of Lorraine, France)