About the 35th District

New Jersey's 35th Legislative District is comprised of the City of Paterson and the boroughs of Haledon, North Haledon, and Prospect Park in Passaic County, as well as the City of Garfield and the borough of Elmwood Park in Bergen County. It is a diverse district, representing a cross-section of ethnicities, ideologies, and incomes.


Paterson, the "Silk City," is the state's third largest city and was founded by our nation's first Secretary of the Treasury, Alexander Hamilton. Spend a day in Paterson, and you can immerse yourself in the history of the United States labor movement and the roots of our manufacturing economy.


The 35th District is home to approximately 225,000 residents, many small businesses, two institutions of higher education (Passaic County Community College and William Paterson University), several historical/cultural sites (Lambert Castle, Botto House, Revolutionary War sites, and The Paterson Museum), one national park (Paterson's Great Falls), and much, much more.


Truly, the 35th District has something for everyone.