North Carolina's Middle Coastal Plain

North Carolina's middle Coastal Plain region covers fourteen eastern North Carolina counties, which are linked by a common natural environment, culture, and history.
The fourteen counties (highlighted in yellow) included in the region are: 
Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Johnston (portion), Jones, 
Lenoir, Martin,Nash, Pamlico, Pitt, Wayne, and Wilson. 

Many scholars believe that the middle Coastal Plain is where the culture of North Carolina developed.  The upper Coastal Plain region shows a strong influence of Virginia, and the lower Coastal Plain region was greatly influenced by South Carolina.  The middle Coastal Plain is where these influences were moderated and a North Carolina culture.

Exhibit Spotlight:

George Washington Carver; From Slave to Scientist

The Museum of the Coastal Plain and the Oliver Nestus Freeman Round House Museum are pleased to host a traveling exhibit on the life of George Washington Carver. 

The story of  George Washington Carver's life is quite inspiring. Born into slavery in 1864, Carver spent his life overcoming adversity to became one of the most renowned figures in history. The exhibit highlight the many reasons why Carver was a true Renaissance man. Artifacts on display highlight his work as a scientist, artist, musician, and serviceman. The exhibit is currently open and will run until November of 2014.

The Oliver Nestus Freeman Round House Museum is located at 1202 E Nash Street in Wilson.

Current Projects: