NCAA‎ > ‎Former Conferences‎ > ‎

Border Intercollegiate Athletic Association

Former Members
Arizona Wildcats, 1931-32 thru 1961-62
Arizona State Sun Devils, 1931-32 thru 1961-62
Hardin-Simmons Cowboys, 1941-42 thru 1961-62
New Mexico Lobos, 1931-32 thru 1950-51
New Mexico State Aggies, 1931-32 thru 1961-62
Northern Arizona Lumberjacks, 1931-32 thru 1952-53
Texas Tech Red Raiders, 1932-33 thru 1955-56
UTEP Miners, 1935-36 thru 1961-62
West Texas A&M Buffaloes, 1941-42 thru 1961-62

Membership timeline

1931-32: Former independents ArizonaArizona State Teachers'-TemeArizona State Teachers'-FlagstaffNew Mexico, and New Mexico A&M form the Border Intercollegiate Athletic Association. Original membership is 5.
1932-33: Texas Tech joins after previously competing as and independent. Membership increases to 6.
1935-36: Texas Mines joins after previously competing as an independent. Membership increases to 7.
1935-36: Hardin-Simmons and West Texas State join after previously competing as independents. Membership increases to 9.
1951-52: New Mexico leaves for the Mountain States Conference. Membership decreases to 8.
1953-54: Arizona State Teachers'-Flagstaff leaves to compete as an independent. Membership decreases to 7.
1956-57: Texas Tech leaves for the Southwest Conference. Membership decreases to 6.
1961-62: Arizona and Arizona State leave to help found the Western Athletic ConferenceHardin-SimmonsNew Mexico StateTexas Western, and West Texas State become independents. Conference disbands.