Competition‎ > ‎

Lincoln-Douglas Debate

Lincoln-Douglas debate on the intercollegiate level is one-on-one policy debate. Typically, the membership proposes several different topic areas which are used for an entire season. The membership votes on those areas, selecting one. The LD committee then proposes several resolutions.

The 2016-2017 Resolution 
Resolved: the United States Federal Government should substantially reduce the role of the United States Southern Command in Latin America.

2017-2018 Topic Area Ballots are in: 
                        39 delegates voted

                        6th place (106 points) Treaty Ratification 
                        5th place (134 points) Immigration Reform 
                        4th place (135 points) Social Justice Reform 
                        3rd place (141 points) Judicial Reform 
                        2nd place (145 points) Cybersecurity/Digital Law 
                        1st place (158 points) Criminal Justice Reform

Want to give NFA-LD a try?  
Don't forget to download the rules. Click here for a printable PDF of the LD rules.  Please refer to the NFA By-Laws for the complete rules, qualification and eligibility guidelines and code of ethics.
  • Time limits for LD debate are:

    • 1st Aff. constructive – 6 minutes
    • Cross Examination – 3 minutes
    • 1st Neg. constructive – 7 minutes
    • Cross Examination – 3 minutes
    • 1st Aff. rebuttal – 6 minutes
    • Neg. rebuttal – 6 minutes
    • 2nd Aff. rebuttal – 3 minutes
    • Prep time: 4 minutes
  • 2016-2017 LD Committee Members

    • John Boyer (Chair) (3 year term)--Lafayette College
    • Sarah Collins--Cameron University
    • Steve Farias--University of the Pacific
    • Joe Packer--Central Michigan University
    • Damon Brown (student rep)--Western Kentucky University