Eastern Section Awards; Information and Application Forms

OUTSTANDING EARTH SCIENCE TEACHER AWARD (OEST).  INFORMATION AND NOMINATION FORM IS NOW POSTED ON NAGT NATIONAL WEBSITE FOUND AT http://nagt.org/nagt/programs/oest.html. Nominate that outstanding Earth Science Teacher that you know of! The nomination process is simple and we need candidates from each state in our eastern section. The OEST winner from each state is invited to attend (free of charge!) the eastern section spring meeting and take part in the workshops, presentations and geologic field trips. They also attend the awards dinner for free. Each OEST receives a plaque, and one OEST becomes the section winner. Please consider nominating someone. SEE  INFO. PAGE BELOW
DIGMAN AWARD NOMINATION FORM FOR EXCELLENCE IN GEOSCIENCE EDUCATION. SEE PDF FILE BELOW. The Digman Award is designed to recognize an individual who works to bring geoscience to the general public. We look for individuals who are not teachers; but work in a capacity that educates the general public in areas of the geosciences. Museum directors, curators and assistants, state survey employees, mine and quarry public relations people would all qualify for this award.
JAMES O'CONNOR MEMORIAL FIELD CAMP SCHOLARSHIP. INFORMATION AND APPLICATION FOR STUDENTS, SEE PDF BELOW. The James O'Connor scholarship is given to a college geology or earth and space science major who is attending a geologic field camp course (typically over the summer) as part of their college degree program. The $500 scholarship assists the student in covering the expenses of their field camp. Nominate a student currently enrolled in your geology program.
DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD FOR THE EASTERN SECTION. INFORMATION AND NOMINATION FORM, SEE PDF BELOW. The distinguished service award is given to a member of the eastern section (still actively teaching or retired) who has, over the years, contributed to the growth and activities of the eastern section. This person should have a history of continued service to the eastern section.
JOHN MOSS AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING COLLEGE TEACHING. The John Moss award is reserved for instructors and professors who, at the college level, model outstanding teaching in the geosciences. To nominate a college instructor your materials should include:
1)  Two letters of recommendation from colleagues, dept chair, fellow dept members, dean, etc.
2)  Letters from his/her students on teaching abilities, inspiration for geology or entering the classroom themselves.
3) CV
4)  A letter of introduction from the nominee
Nomination materials should be sent to Steve Lindberg, Eastern Section Awards Chair.
Stephen Lindberg,
Oct 21, 2014, 4:59 PM
Stephen Lindberg,
Oct 21, 2014, 4:58 PM
Stephen Lindberg,
Oct 21, 2014, 5:04 PM
Stephen Lindberg,
Sep 19, 2011, 3:37 AM