The Henry Wasser Travel Grant

- For stimulating the intellectual quality of American Studies in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.

NAAS is pleased to announce the Professor Henry Wasser Travel Grant for the participation of Ph.D. and M.A. students in our national and Nordic conferences. The grant was made available thanks to the generosity of Solidelle Fortier Wasser and her son Professor Frederick Wasser, in honor of their late husband and father.

The Henry Wasser Travel Grant is awarded to graduate students (Ph.D. and M.A.) enrolled in any of the Nordic countries’ institutions of higher education to attend American Studies conferences in the Nordic countries (e.g. ASANOR, DAAS, FASA, SAAS, NAAS). Henry Wasser (1919 – 2016) was a Fulbright Professor at the American Institute at the University of Oslo from 1962 to 1964, and then later at the University of Bergen, Norway in 1989-1990. The grant honors his contributions to American Studies inside and outside the United States, and helps encourage the continued interest in and work with American studies in the Nordic countries.

An Application and a CV must be submitted by e-mail to Professor Mikko Saikku, NAAS President, at and Professor Lene Johannessen, Chairwoman of the Henry Wasser Travel Grant Assessment Committee, at by April 1, 2017. The winner will be notified by April 15 and will be recognized at the NAAS conference in Odense, May 22-24, 2017.
Jørn Brøndal,
Feb 15, 2017, 5:31 AM