Announcements‎ > ‎

Attend an Online Tour of North America’s Most Cavernous Limestone

posted Apr 8, 2013, 2:07 PM by MSS Caves

Attend an Online Tour of North America’s Most Cavernous Limestone

April 8, 2013
A National Park Ranger guiding visitors on a tour of Mammoth Cave.

A National Park Ranger guiding visitors on a tour of Mammoth Cave. Photo by Daniel Schwen/Wikipedia

The next presentation in the ongoing series of webinars put on by the NSS will feature a tour of the most cavernous limestone layer in North America.

Join presenter Art Palmer, one of the most respected scientists in the field of speleology and author of the book Cave Geology, as he explains how most of the largest American caves are found in the same limestone layer, a deposit that covers most of the country.

Curiously, despite being part of the same layer, different variations in geology have resulted in very different caves. These differences can be explained with a few observations — some simple, and some quite complex.

To find out more about this “Caver’s Haven”, mark this webinar on your calendar.

This free event runs from 8:00 to 9:00pm CST (7:00pm MST/6:00pm PST) on Monday, April 29th, 2013.

Registration is open, and as usual, space is limited, so reserve your spot now.

Also be sure to join 10 minutes early on the day of the presentation to assure your spot.

Comments