Home



Important updates/info.

Periods 1, 3, 6 & 7, click here for the video for tonight's (Wed 1/18) homework. Make sure to watch the video and takes notes in your math notebook.

Please check the HW Calendar for daily assignments and the Filing Cabinet for Problem of the Month and weekly Skill Review Sheets.




Email: m_vekasy@stoughtonschools.org
Phone: 781.344.7002 ext 6209

________________________________________

OMS Mission Statement


The O'Donnell Middle School, in partnership with families and the community, will maintain a safe environment that fosters the intellectual growth and social development of each child.

We will empower students to be active participants in their school community by demonstrating the values of R.E.S.P.E.C.T. :

Responsibility
Effort
Spirit
Pride
Excellence
Compassion
Teamwork

__________________________________________

About Me

Childhood:
I grew up in Upstate New York, in the capital district area. I went to a small, public school and graduated with a whopping 72 other students! Along with being a great student, I was a three-sport athlete and got involved in extra curricular activities as much as possible. I have five older brothers, and 12 nieces and nephews.


Education:
After high school, I went to Roger Williams University in Rhode Island and graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and Mathematics with a minor in Portuguese. After teaching for 2 years at OMS, I decided to go back to school to get my Masters in Education from Cambridge College and graduated with a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies in the spring of 2009.

Life at OMS:
I have been teaching at OMS for ten years. The 2016-2017 school year will be my sixth year teaching grade 8 math. I am excited to introduce some new strategies and routines into my class but also can’t wait to become even more familiar with the curriculum that my colleagues (Mr. Prudden, 8C and Ms. Hogan, 8B) have worked so hard to adapt to the Common Core Standards. I really enjoy teaching in Stoughton, especially at OMS; the town is diverse and yet has a small, hometown feel to it as well which makes me feel like I'm back where I grew up!

Here and Now:
On a more personal note, I have been married for five years. My husband and I rescued our four-legged “baby”, Brewster, at 9 weeks old. Brewster turned 4 in March 2016. He is a boxer-foxhound and loves to be in the great outdoors just like his Mom and Dad! The three of us bought a house in Norfolk in December 2013 and welcomed our son, Oliver, in May 2014!!
Oliver brings so much joy to all of our lives and now that he is running and climbing he also brings a lot of exhaustion to it as well. :) Oliver has a new role as a BIG BROTHER as we welcomed our second child, a baby girl named Caroline, on October 6th!

Hobbies:
-        embracing the vigor of being a working mom
-        playing with Oliver and learning all of his new tricks!
-        spending time with my family and friends
-        enjoying the outdoors (hiking, kayaking, running, walking, swimming, and more!)
-        spending time with Brewster…whether it’s relaxing on the couch or playing at the dog park
-        listening to music…I enjoy pretty much everything from country to hip-hop :)

-        knitting & sewing
-        preparing my family for our 2nd baby (we're excited to be surprised about the baby's gender!)

...that's all I can think of right now but I'm sure there are more!