ACM MobiArch 2010

The 5th ACM International Workshop on Mobility in the Evolving Internet Architecture



 Paper Registration
 Not Required
 Paper submission
 June 8, 2010, 11.59 PM EDT
 Notification  July 5, 2010
 Camera ready version due
 July 15, 2010


With recent developments in wireless access, sensor, and mobile device technologies, the mobility of users, terminals, and networks has become an indispensable component of today's Internet vision. Wireless access devices already outnumber stationary Internet hosts and an increasing share of traffic traverses at least one wireless link. These trends can be expected to continue in the near future and call for a reexamination of the architectural design of the current and future internets. The current TCP/IP architecture was originally designed for communication between stationary mainframes and servers, and later used for wired PCs. While Mobile IP and the IPv6 mobility extensions have sought to evolve the current architecture to provide support for connections under device mobility, their adoption has lagged behind expectations. This lack of adoption and additional challenges posed by mobility have led to renewed interest in a clean-slate design that comprehensively addresses mobility, free of existing architectural constraints. A clean-slate design requires rethinking current architectural foundations like the end-to-end principle as well as associated Internet business models. It requires addressing issues such as efficient mobility management and optimization, locator-identifier split, multi-homing, security, transport over wireless access and related operational/deployment concerns. Moreover, the architecture will also need to include new services to meet the changed needs of the majority of mobile applications. 

MobiArch 2010 welcomes submissions from both researchers and practitioners that explore challenges or advances in architectures, protocols, and technologies to address mobility in the current Internet or in future clean-slate Internets. We especially welcome position papers that describe highly original ideas, discuss new directions, or generate insightful discussion at the workshop.

Topics of MobiArch 2010 cover all aspects of architectural issues and system support for mobility in the Internet, including but not limited to:

  • Impact of new wireless technologies/services, networking technologies, and mobility patterns on the Internet architecture
  • Architectures and protocols for mobility support in the Internet, ranging from link to application layers or cross-layer design solutions
  • Addressing and routing issues (e.g., locator/identifier split, content routing, multi-homing)
  • Location management, representation of geolocation, and support for location-aware application and protocols
  • Security and privacy issues in mobile networks and impact on Internet architecture
  • Role of network virtualization in mobile Internet architecture
  • Economic, regulation, and deployment issues of mobility solutions (infrastructure and devices)

Submissions must present original results. Selected papers will be forward-looking, describe their relationship to existing work, and have impact and implications for ongoing or future research.


Submitted papers must be no more than 6 pages long. Your submission must be in PDF. Your submission must use a 10pt font (or larger) and be correctly formatted for printing on Letter-sized (8.5" by 11") paper, must be double-column, with each column 9.25" by 3.33", 0.33" space between columns, and single-spaced. If correctly formatted, this means that no page column will have more than 55 lines of text. Number the pages of your submission. If you need assistance in the formatting of your paper, please use either this LaTex class file or the Word document template."

Papers will be reviewed single blind. Paper submission will be handled through EDAS:


Arun Venkataramani, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Marco Gruteser, WINLAB, Rutgers University


Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge
Morley Mao, University of Michigan
Lixia Zhang, UC Los Angeles
Lars Eggert, Nokia Research Center
Joerg Ott, Helsinki University of Technology
Katherine Guo, Bell Laboratories
Ravi Kokku, NEC Labs 
Ratul Mahajan, Microsoft Research
Dipankar Raychaudhuri, Rutgers University
Robin Kravets, University of Illinois
Xiaoming Fu, University of Goettingen
Joseph Evans, University of Kansas
Yung Yi, KAIST
Xiaowei Yang, Duke University
Klaus Wehrle, RWTH Aachen
Kishore Ramachandran, NEC Labs
Seung-Jae Han, Yonsei University
Ellen Zegura, Georgia Tech


Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge (chair)
Xiaoming Fu, University of Goettingen (ex-officio)
Katherine Guo, Bell Laboratories
Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University
Lars Eggert, Nokia Research Center
Joerg Ott, Helsinki University of Technology