Weekly Assignments

Monday, Feb. 8

Journal/Correct FYI 2

Notes

Work time—Final book club

Essay Practice (if time)

 

Tuesday, Feb. 9

Meet with book clubs

Plot diagram

Final Discussion

 

Wednesday, Feb. 10

Online Review

Click here for the notes to study for the test.

Play Jeopardy: Review

 

Thursday, Feb. 11

COW Test

Review for vocabulary quiz when finished

Homework: Vocabulary review

 

Friday, Feb. 12

Go over tests

Correct vocabulary review assignment

Vocabulary Review

Click here  and here for an online reviews for the vocabulary quizzes.

Begin Writing assignment/brainstorm 

****************************

Monday, Feb. 1

Reading Quiz

Conflict and chapter 5 notes

Begin chapter 6

 

Tuesday, Feb. 2

*SNOW DAY*

 

Wednesday, Feb. 3

Finish chapter 6

Take notes

Start the last chapter


Thursday, Feb. 4

Begin chapter 7

Homework: FYI 2

 

Friday, Feb. 5

Collaboration Friday


Monday, February 8

Correct FYI 2

Finish chapter 7

Take notes

Homework: Last Book Club Assignment


******************************************

Monday, January 25

Reading Quiz

Finish Chapter 3

Notes

 

Tuesday, January 26

Start Chapter 4

Homework: FYI 1

 

Wednesday, January 27

Ski Trip

 

Thursday, January 28

Correct FYI 1

Finish chapter 4

Homework: Book Club Assignment

 

Friday, January 29

Share with book circles

Begin Chapter 5

Homework: Read Chapter 5

*******************************

Monday, January 18

No School

 

Tuesday, January 19

Go over quizzes

Pre-reading quiz

Start novel The Call of the Wild

We will be reading the novel in class together, but here are some resources if you miss a day:

The Call of the Wild
Audio Version

Full text version

Wednesday, January 20

Finish chapter 1

Take Notes

Begin chapter 2

 

Thursday, January 21

Finish chapter 2

Assignment: Book circle assignment (varies by student)-

Due tomorrow

 

Friday, January 22

Reading Quiz

Literature Circle Discussions

Begin Chapter 3

**********************************

Monday, Jan. 11

Correct good vs. well sheet

Adjectives Song

p. 226 & 228-230

Homework: Adjectives Sheet

 

Tuesday, Jan. 12

Pages 231-235

Homework: Adjective Review Sheet

 

 Wednesday, Jan. 13

Do page 235

Homework: Worksheet 24

 

Thursday, Jan. 14

Correct homework

Exercise 9 & 12, p. 235

Homework: Adjective quiz review

 

 

Friday, Jan. 15

Adjective quiz

Online review

*********************************

Monday, Jan. 4

Edit and add monster papers to websites

Add clipart

 

Tuesday, January 5

Begin Scope magazine

Read “The Mystery of the Stolen Jewel”

 

Wednesday, January 6

Read “Attack at Sea”

and “Let’s Bring Back the Joy”

 

Thursday, January 7

Finish and correct Scope

 

Friday, January 8

Adjectives Song

Correct WS 21

p. 226 & 228-230

Homework: Worksheet 24

************************

Monday, Dec. 21

Journal Entry

Helping verbs practice

Test review


Tuesday, Dec. 22

Verbs Test

************************

Monday, Dec. 14

Drama Unit Test

 

Tuesday, December 15

Review action verbs, p. 206, 207, &211

Action verbs practice

Homework: None

 

Wednesday, Dec. 16

Linking verbs, p. 212-217

In class practice

Homework: Worksheet 15

 

Thursday, Dec. 17

Helping Verbs Review

Finish page 221  

Friday, December 18

 Verbs wrap-up

Correct page 221

Worksheet 19

Quiz review

*****************************************************

Monday

Present project

Assign groups for project
Research



Tuesday
Use Character sheet to organize information
Create example as class



Wednesday
Work time for creating character
Type up 


Thursday
Present Character or work time if need


Friday
Vocabulary Quiz
Review for Monday's Test

*******************************************************

Monday

Introduce the play

Vocabulary
Read Play

Tuesday 
Read Play

Wednesday 
Finish Play/Discuss Questions

Thursday
Group discussion over Christmas Carol
If time start Group investigation

Friday
Group Investigation
Due Monday

***********************************

Monday, November 23

Work on Powtoon


Tuesday, November 24

Share Powtoons


November 25-27

No School

*******************************

Monday, November 16

-Vocabulary Quiz

-Compare and contrast movie and play

-Homework: Finish film review


Tuesday, November 17

-Go over quizzes and hand in homework

-How to write a script

-Write 1st page


Wednesday, November 18

-Check plot diagrams

-Write page 2


Thursday, November 19

Work time on project


Friday, November 20

Finish project

*************************************************************

Monday, November 9

Acting exercise

Play vocabulary

Plot diagram

Begin The Monsters are Due on Maple Street


Tuesday, November 10

Continue The Monsters are Due on Maple Street

Fill out plot diagram


Wednesday, November 11

Finish The Monsters are Due on Maple Street

Plot diagram

Elements of a play


Thursday, November 12

Journal Entry

Discussion


Friday, November 13

Watch The Twilight Zone

Fill out viewing guide

Extra credit opportunity: Watch the newer

version of The Monsters are Due on

Maple Street and write a comparison/

contrast. It must be at least 2 paragraphs.

(Due Wednesday)


Monday, November 16

Compare/contrast play and show

Homework: Page 10/Study for vocabulary quiz

**********************

Monday, November 2

Turn in papers

Journal Entry

Read “Attack of the Man-Eaters” and “Meet the Lion Whisperers”

Work on packet

 

Tuesday, November 3

Finish Scope  ("Is Boredom Really That Bad?")

Correct packet

Homework: The Lazy Editor

 

Wednesday, November 4

Write letters to veterans

 

Thursday, November 5

Correct homework (from Tuesday)

Draw monsters

 

Friday, November 6

No School: Collaboration Day

**********************************************

Monday, October 26

DOL

Practice descriptive writing through teacher examples.

Look at sample descriptive writing.

Write an introduction

 

Tuesday, October 27

DOL Quiz

Writing Time: Description

Begin a rough draft describing your drawing. This must be done so that someone else could draw your picture without seeing it. Click here for an organizer to help you get started.

 

Wednesday, October 28

Shortened Periods*

Play synopsis

Write conclusions

 

Thursday, October 29

Monster DOL

Peer editing: monsters

Homework: Monster papers are due Monday!

Have an adult proofread for you. 

 

Friday, October 30

Scope Magazine reading activities

Read "The Man Who Saved a Thousand Babies" and "Should Women Do This?"

****************************

Monday, October 19

No School

 

Tuesday, Oct. 20

Shortened Periods

Google Doc review activity


 

Wednesday, October 21

Review for tomorrow’s test. Click here to see what will be on the test.

Homework: Worksheet 2: Let's Be Proper

 

 

Thursday, October 22

Shortened Periods

Nouns test

 

Friday, October 23

Go over tests/correct worksheet 2

Homework: Draw monsters for descriptive papers

*************************

Monday, Oct. 12

Correct 196

Compound/Collective practice

 

Tuesday, Oct. 13

Pages 197-199

Class practice

Worksheet 29


Homework: Worksheet1

 

Wednesday, Oct. 14

Correct worksheet 1

Exercise 14, p. 200

Homework: Write a paragraph. 

Underline at least 10 nouns and circle 5 pronouns.

 

Thursday, Oct. 15

Collect paragraphs


Demonstrative and Interrogative Pronouns


Online Pronouns Review


Homework: Worksheet 10


 

Friday, Oct. 16

Correct worksheet 10


Pronoun/antecedent agreement


Online review

Homework: Worksheet 11

*******************************

Monday, October 5

Vocabulary quiz

Book fair video

Homework: Worksheet 1 (Capitalization Practice)

 

Tuesday, October 6

Go over vocabulary quizzes

Create website

 

Wednesday, October 7

Common/proper nouns, p. 195


Nouns activity


Online review of nouns

  

Thursday, October 8

MAP Language Test

 

Friday, October 9

Exercise 6, 7, and 10, p. 196

*****************************

Monday, Sept. 28

-Practice Essays

-Fill out study organizer

Click here to see the notes that will be on the test.

Review for test

 

Tuesday, Sept. 29

Play game/Review for test

 

Wednesday, Sept. 30

Unit 1 Test

 

Thursday, Oct. 1

Go over tests

Vocabulary review

 

Friday, Oct. 2

No School: Collaboration Day


Monday, Oct. 5

Vocabulary quiz

Start Websites 

*************************

Monday, Sept. 21

Tuesday, Sept. 22

MAP Reading tests

 

Wednesday, Sept. 23

Correct WS 91 & online activity

Hand in wanted posters

Read "Should Kids Do Extreme Sports?" 

Do vocabulary sheet and answer questions (Due Monday)

Thursday, Sept. 24

Outdoor Education Day

 

Friday, Sept. 25

No School

***********************

Monday, Sept. 14

Discuss Online

Homework: Worksheet 6 (Cross-curricular connection)

Tuesday, Sept. 15

Read “The Cat Who Thought She Was a Dog”

Homework: Vocab ½ sheet & questions

 

Wednesday, Sept. 16

Computer agreements

Correct homework

Discussion Groups

Homework: Story Map

 

Thursday, Sept. 17

Read "The Highwayman"

 

 

Friday, September 18

Interactive online activity

Continue work on posters

Homework: Worksheet 91 (Vocabulary Practice)/Wanted Poster--draw or print (in color) a picture of The Highwayman and describe him (due Wednesday)

***********************

Monday, Sept. 7

No School

 

Tuesday, Sept. 8

4 Areas of substantive conversation

Trial Fishbowl

Discuss Article

 

Wednesday, Sept. 9

Read "All Summer in a Day"


Homework: Worksheet 86

 

Thursday, Sept. 10

Correct worksheet 86

Notes

Discuss questions appointment style 

 

Friday, Sept. 11

Similes, Metaphors, & Personification 

Figurative language sheet

Read "A Day's Wait"

*****************************

Monday, August 31

-Share Dr. Love Activities

-"Seventh Grade" Four-Square

-Discuss Point of View


Tuesday, Sept. 1

Collect About Me Papers

Read/Listen to "Oranges"

Homework: Turn the poem into a comic strip. It must be colored.


 Wednesday, Sept. 2

Discuss literary elements of "Oranges"

Compare/Contrast "Oranges" and "Seventh Grade"


Thursday, Sept. 3

Watch Sample Discussions

Discuss four areas of substantive conversation: critically thinking, contributing, connecting, & concluding

Create a Google Doc about your area


Friday, Sept. 4

Journal Entry


Read "Why Are Your Clothes so Cheap?"
*************************

Monday, August 24

Namecards/seating chart

Introductions 

Partner Matching

Homework: Get expectations sheet signed


Tuesday, August 25

Collect expectations

About You Sheet/Pictures

Journal Entry

Who Are You?

Notes--Unit 1


Wednesday, August 26

-Collect Expectations sheet

-Go to lab: -Review use of Google Docs

-Go over photo booth

-Type biographical info. (It's due Tuesday.)


Thursday, August 27

Continue work on biography. (It's due Tuesday.)



Pass out books

 Read "Seventh Grade", p. 114



Friday, August 28

Discuss "Seventh Grade"

Dr. Love Activity

  


Ċ
Angie Kurt-Sconsa,
Jan 7, 2013, 9:13 AM
Comments