In the first race of the 2014 Spring Season, MITRC joined club crews from Harvard Business School, Yale Graduate Crew and Wharton Crew of the University of Pennsylvania for the 2014 Wharton Sprints Regatta on Saturday, April 12 in Philadelphia. It was the first time MITRC had participated in the Wharton Sprints since 2008, and the six-year gap provided ample motivation to come out strong. Races were held out of Fairmount Boathouse on the Schuylkill River in near perfect conditions. In the end, MITRC returned to Boston victorious, winning First Place in the 1000 m Intermediate Race with a time of 3:36.70.  Wharton's A and B boats came in second and third place respectively. MITRC's line up was: C Josh Littlejohn (Wharton), 8 Will Doss Suter, 7 Dan Cooper, 6 Ed Ballo, 5 Andrew Cunningham, 4 Tughral Turab Ali, 3 Orlando Luisillo, 2 ZZ Friedman (Wharton), 1 Namir Jawdat. MITRC was also aided by a raucous cheering section comprised of Orlando's wife, Karla, who doubled as team photographer. See here handiwork on the Wharton Sprints Photo page.

The early win bodes well for the rest of the season as MITRC sits undefeated in 2014. GO TECH!!


During the entire Spring Season, please do not park in the spaces in front of the boathouse on Thursdays and Fridays to allow the varsity team to move boats.