Home‎ > ‎Keys to Coleoptera‎ > ‎

Key for the identification of British Silvanidae

A family with 12 established British species from 10 genera.  An additional 16 species are listed in the latest checklist as non-established introductions.  These are not included in the key below. 

There are two subfamilies represented:

Subfamily Brontinae containing the genera Uleiota, Dendrophagus, Cryptamorpha and Psammoecus

Subfamily Silvaninae containing the genera Cathartus, Nausibius, Ahasverus, Oryzaephilus, Silvanus and Silvanoprus

The key below should allow identification of all twelve British species.  Please send any comments and particularly suggestions for improvement to me at mikesinsectkeysATgmail.com
Mike Hackston,
3 Jan 2017, 08:03