Home‎ > ‎Keys to Coleoptera‎ > ‎

Key for the identification of British Cerambycidae

According to Duff's checklist of British Coleoptera there are 67 species of Cerambycidae (longhorn beetles) which are either native or introduced with viable populations in the wild.  These are classified in 6 subfamilies
    Subfamily Prioninae (1 genus, 1 species)
    Subfamily Lepturinae (18 genera, 25 species)
    Subfamily Spondylidinae (3 genera, 5 species)
    Subfamily Cerambycinae (16 genera, 19 species)
    Subfamily Lamiinae (11 genera, 17 species)

Since Joy's 1932 publication, Duffy gave updated keys in the Royal Entomological Society's Handbooks for the Identification of British Insects.  This publication is available under a Creative Commons License at http://www.royensoc.co.uk/sites/default/files/Vol05_Part12.pdf.  The file below has been adapted from Duffy's work with substantial modifications using German works by Harde (1966) and Lompe (2013).  

This revision has been in response to users who have found difficulties in the previous version.  Please keep these coming.  I want to ensure that the information is accurate.  The keys are supposed to be "living" documents.

The latest version of the key takes account of Stictoleptura cordigera which has been recently discovered in the wild in Hackney Marshes, Anastrangalia reyi (bringing the number of Lepturinae to 27 species), Tetropium fuscum with suspected breeding colonies in Wiltshire and Scotland (increasing the number of Spondylidinae to 6 species) and Pogonocherus caroli reported from Scotland (increasing the Lamiinae to 18 species).

Mike Hackston,
6 Jan 2019, 10:28