Home‎ > ‎Keys to Coleoptera‎ > ‎

Key for the identification of British Buprestidae

The British species of Buprestidae are very few and are mostly restricted to the SE of Britain.  They belong to two subfamilies and a total of five genera:

Subfamily Buprestinae
    Genus Anthaxia
    Genus Melanophila

Subfamily Agrilinae
    Genus Agrilus
    Genus Aphanisticus
    Genus Trachys

The file below is a draft key to the British species of Buprestidae which is a composite from the keys of Levey (1977) and Thery (1942).  If you have any suggestions for improvements please let me know
Mike Hackston,
30 Dec 2016, 08:40