Particle Systems and PDE's - IV

This is the fourth meeting on Particle Systems and PDE's to be held at the Centre of Mathematics of the University of Minho, from the 16th to the 18th of December 2015. 

The idea of the meeting is to get together researchers from two different areas of mathematics, namely Particle Systems and Partial Differential Equations, and to present recent scientific results in both areas. 

We expect the participation of a vast audience, including young researchers and PhD students, and we intend to present and exploit the interdisciplinary nature of mathematics as well as its applications in various areas.

Place: University of Minho, Campus de Gualtar, Braga.
Room: Laboratory 4 at the Mathematics Department.
Date: 16th to 18th December 2015.

Contacts: Please send an email to

Registration: Attendance is free but needs registration up to the 1st of December. To register please fill the following form.


This is a joint organization by:
      CMAT - Centro de Matemática da Universidade do Minho;
      CMAF-IO - Centro de Matemática, Aplicações Fundamentais e Investigação Operacional da Universidade de Lisboa.


CMAT, University of Minho

CMAF-IO, University of Lisbon

Portuguese Funds from the Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia (FCT-FACC)

Co-Lab initiative UT Austin-Portugal

The city

Scientific Committee:

Irene Gamba (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Ansgar Jüngel (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Claudio Landim (IMPA, Brazil)

Organizing Committee:

Anton Arnold (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
M. Conceição Carvalho (CMAF, University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Patrícia Gonçalves (CMAT, University of Minho & PUC-RIO, Brazil)
Ana Jacinta Soares (CMAT, University of Minho, Portugal)
Alexis Vasseur (University of Texas at Austin, USA)


– Eric Carlen (Rutgers University, USA)
Title: "Functional inequalities and evolution equations for particle systems"

– Jean-Christophe Mourrat (ENS Lyon, France)
Title: "Singular stochastic PDE's as scaling limits"

Invited Speakers:

Franz Achleitner
(Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Anton Arnold (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Christophe Bahadoran (Blaise Pascal University, France)
Giada Basile (University Roma La Sapienza, Italy)
Cédric Bernardin (University of Nice, France)

Oriane Blondel (University Claude Bernard, Lyon 1, France)
Silvia Caprino (University of Roma Tor Vergata, Italy)
Eduard Feireisl (Institute of Mathematics AS, Czech Republic)
Klemens Fellner (
Institute for Mathematics and Scientific Computing, Graz, Austria)
Tertuliano Franco (Federal University of Bahia, Brazil)
François Golse (École Polytechnique, France)
Stefan Grosskinsky (Warwick University, UK)
Milton Jara (IMPA, Brazil)
Jian-Guo Liu (Duke University, USA)
Mahendra Panthee (State University of Campinas, Brazil)
Nicolas Perkowski (Humboldt-University of Berlin, Germany) 
Mario Pulvirenti (University Roma La Sapienza, Italy)
Valeria Ricci (University of Palermo, Italy)
Gunter Schütz (Institute of Complex Systems II, Germany)
Marielle Simon (PUC-RIO, Brazil)

Alexis Vasseur (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Rui Vilela Mendes (CMAFCIO, University of Lisbon, Portugal)