Welcome to Mata - Home to Telugu community in Madison WI The word telugu comes from the word trilinga, i.e. from the three temples at Srisailam, Drakasharamam, and Kaleshwaram.

The Northern group consists of three languages. The central group consists ten langauages. Out of these ten, only telugu became a civilized language and the rest of the nine languages remained tribal languages. The southern group consists of languages which includes Kannada, Tamil, Malayalam, Tulu and others.

Telugu split from Proto-Dravidian between 1500-1000 BC. So, Telugu became a distinct language by the time any literary activity began to appear in the Tamil land.

Andhra was originally the name of a tribe.The Telugu alphabet is called Onamaalu.