Chakra Mantras

Chakras: What are they?

The word 'chakra' is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning 'wheel', a better translation would be spinning wheel. If you could see chakras  you would be able to see each primary chakra as a spinning vortex or wheel of energy; spinning inward from the front of your body towards the center point of that chakra on the kundalini and then spinning outward from that same point from your back. The chakras start at the base of the spine and go up through the head. Almost all religions believe in the spiritual and energy power points within the human body and these power points are called chakras. There are seven primary or main chakra points with about a hundred smaller secondary chakras. The smaller points are often called meridians and are used during acupuncture to attune the Chi flow. The secondary chakra points are influenced with action and physicality while the seven primary chakras deal with emotions and spirituality. The primary chakras influence your health greatly, the health concerns related to them are caused by an unbalance in the chakra itself, from an emotional or spiritual cause, which then manifests into a physical ailment. Each chakra relates strongly to a specific part of the body, specific emotions, mental, and spiritual concerns.

Each chakra has a different frequency of vibration, symbol, color, and sound that it is attuned to. When the chakra is balanced, clear, and energized it would be in tune and play the most wonderful sound of it’s own, emitting the proper vibration for that chakra. Many things can effect the vibrations including sounds of voice, drums, music, chants, mantras,  the vibrational energy of colors, and of course gemstones. All colors and sounds are vibrations and using the sounds and colors of the chakras assist them in becoming aligned and balanced. The colors of the chakras are that of the rainbow; starting at the root chakra black/red, orange, yellow, green/pink, light blue, indigo, and violet/white for the seventh chakra.

 Sense Tissue Chakra        Sanskrit

 Lam         Red Earth Smell, nose    
 Vam Orange Water Taste, tongue
 Fat tissues
 Sex Chakra
 Ram Yellow Fire Sight, eyes    
 Navel Chakra    
 Yam Green Air Touch, skin
 Heart Chakra

 Ham Blue Ether Sound, ears    
 Prana Throat Chakra
 Purple/Violet  Cosmic Mind
 Third Eye
 Om (Aum)
 White, clear light
  Pure consciousness
 HeadCrown Chakra