About Us

Malheur Country Historical Society was started by a group of local citizens in 1973 who wanted to preserve and share the history of Malheur and surrounding areas which are in danger of being lost, quickly fading and being forgotten.

Our purpose is "to gather, preserve and make available to the public, historical materials relating to Malheur County, to help stimulate an interest in, and share knowledge of our local area; to collect, preserve diaries and items of historical interest and to help preserve and mark places of historical significance."The Society works to share historical information with interested persons by meeting once a month and bringing in speakers to share local history; volunteering to clean and restore cemeteries, provide and maintain signage for different historical sites; assisting county museums and have maintained an old caboose on the fairgrounds where members volunteer time during the fair to share photos and information about Malheur Country. The Society also has compiled a 3 volume book set with local family stories and history and is building an oral history library by taping and editing DVD’s of interviews with local pioneers.

The group is governed by an Executive Board elected by the membership and consists of 8 board members and 4 officers.  Membership in this organization is $15.00 a year for a family, membership includes a newsletter sent to members on a regular basis sharing information and diary notes from old families who lived years ago in this community.  Bob Butler is the current president. 7 meetings are held a year at TVCC on the 4th Thursday of the month with a no host luncheon provided, and the annual meeting in November is held at the Boulevard Grange Hall.

For information on how you can become a member, or if you have any questions or concerns, please email us at malheurcountryhist@gmail.com or send us a letter at P.O. box 691, Ontario, OR 97914

Click here for information about our next meeting.

Click here for our most recent Photos of the Week.

Click here for a list of current Board members.
Subpages (1): Board Members