Ph.D. Students

John Alper
Silicon and Silicon Carbide Nanowires: Synthesis, Characterization, Modification, and Application as Micro-Supercapacitor Electrodes
Yongkwan Kim
Fabrication and Characterization of Gecko-inspired Fibrillar Adhesive
Ye Tian
Wetting Properties of Coated Surfaces and Friction Properties of Polymer Composites
Shuang Wang
Ionogel Electrolyte for All Solid State Supercapacitor Applications
Ben Hsia
Materials Synthesis and Characterization for Micro-Supercapacitor Applications
 Wenjuan Gou
Adhesion Force Measurement on Polycrystalline Silicon Surfaces in MEMS Devices
Greg Doerk
Synthesis, Characterization, and Integration of Silicon Nanowires for Nanosystems Technology
Fang Liu
Surface Engineering of Micro- and Nano-electromechanical systems (M/NEMS) and Materials Development for High Performance M/NEMS
Brian Bush
The Role of Chemical Modification and Nanostructuring on Adhesion in Microsystems

Noel Arellano 
Silicon nanowire based electromechanical systems (co-advised by Roger T. Howe)
Christopher Roper
Silicon Carbide Thin Films via LPCVD for MEMS and NEMS (co-advised by Roger T. Howe)
Calvin DaRosa 
Catalyst Deposition for Microreactors Using Galvanic Displacement (co-advised by Enrique Iglesia
Jingchun Zhang   
Silicon Carbide and Diamond Materials Development for MEMS and NEMS (co-advised by Roger T. Howe)
Teris Liu
Microfabricated “Lab-on-a-chip” Analysis System (co-advised by Richard Mathies)
Di Gao
Silicon Carbide Technology for MEMS and NEMS Applications (co-advised by Roger T. Howe)
W. Robert Ashurst
Surface Engineering for MEMS Reliability (also alumnus postdoctoral fellow)
Mike Houston
Surface Treatments for Adhesion Reduction in Polysilicon Micromechanical Devices
Jon Kluth
Structure and Stability of Surface Passivation Layers on Semiconductor Materials

 Master's Students

Carmen Iten
Gecko-Inspired Surfaces for Medical Adhesive Use
Candy Chang
Sol-Gel Processing of YSZ for High-Temperature Supercapacitor Applications
Nassim Farrokhzad
Modeling and Development of Gecko-Inspired Adhesives
Wei-Cheng Lien
Porous and Epitaxial 3C-SiC Thin Films Technology for Micro-electromechanical Systems and Electronics Applications
Melitta Hon
Corrosion of Polysilicon MEMS under High Relative Humidity and Actuation Voltage

Elizabeth Parker
Surface Modifications of Si-based MEMS Devices
Mike Pullon
Molecular Dynamics Simulation of Hydrogen Adsorption on Si(100)
Kim Cheung     
Novel Materials for High Temp Microreactors (co-advised by Enrique Iglesia)
Rajan Kukreja
Characterization of Poly-crystalline Silicon-Germanium Alloys for MEMS Applications

 Postdoctoral Fellows

Albert Gutés
Decoration of Graphene with Metal Nanoparticles for Sensing Applications
Mohammad (Kamran) Shavezipur
Harsh Environment Micro- and Nano-Systems and Development of Micro-instruments to Study High Temperature Surface Phenomena
Maxime Vincent
High Temperature Silicon Carbide Metallization
Ian Laboriante
Tribology and Surface Engineering of M/NEMS Materials and Devices
Dae Ho Lee
Friction and Adhesion of bioinspired nanostructures
Nicola Ferralis
Synthesis and Characterization of Epitaxial Graphene from Silicon Carbide for Electronic and Sensing Applications; Surface Alloying of Gold Microparticles on Silicon Surfaces and During Growth of Silicon Nanowires
Frank DelRio
Low-temperature MEMS Technology
Marta Cerruti
Chemical Sensing using Functionalized Cantilevers and Quartz-Micro Balance, and Pt Nanoclusters Fabrication and Application as Catalysts
Joelle Frechette
Investigation of Wear in MEMS
Yuko Ueno
Characterizations of Diamondoid Molecules and Thin-films
Conrad Stoldt
Novel Surface Coatings and Structural Materials for MEMS; Surface Science of C60 and SiC Thin Films
Muthu Wijesundara
Low-temperature Growth, Doping and Metallization of SiC for MEMS Applications
Hyuneui Lim
Surface Modification of InP-based MEMS
Michaela Fritz
Surface Modification of Silicon: Understanding and Controlling Interfacial Forces in Microdevices
Sang Han
Surface Passivation Chemistry of Ge
Myung Mo Sung
Surface Modification Using Self-Assembled Monolayers

 Visiting Scholars

SiC Micro Electrical Mechanical Systems for Harsh Environment Applications
Post-Processing of SiC Thin Films using PECVD and Excimer Laser Annealing
Marco Tocchio
3D Nanoporous Graphene on Electroplated Nickel
Nicolas Miani
Transparent Conductive Oxides for Photovoltaics
Alessandro Piotto
Synthesis of Indium Phosphide for Thin Film Photovoltaics
Dario Pigliofreddo
Deposition of Graphene on Electrodeposited Ruthenium
Andrea Oriani
Indium Phosphide Electrodeposition for Thin Film Photovoltaics
Novella Ballarin
Electrochemical Etching of SiC and Applications to MEMS Devices
Anahit Raygani
Electrodeposition of Indium Phosphide Thin Films for Solar Cells
Junqin Zhang
Silicon Carbide Microsystems Technology for Harsh Environment Sensing
Guohua Li
MEMS Reliability and Tribology
Yuko Kani-Hino
Silicon Carbide Sensors for Harsh Environment Applications
Marta Fernandez
Catalyst-grown Si Nanowires for the Fabrication of Ultra-High Performance Nanoelectromechanical Systems

Yifeng Chen 
Silicon Carbide Thin Films for M/NEMS and Electronics Applications
Stefano Fissolo 
Functionalization of Epitaxial Graphene with Organic Molecules
Bahman Vasheghani Farahani
Intermacromolecular Interactions, Polymer Metal Complexes, Polymer Characterization, Microencapsulation, Nanotechnology
Farzaneh Hosseinpour Rajabi
Thermodynamic, Electrochemical and Viscometric Studies on Polymer-Polymer Interactions and Formation of Interpolymer Complexes, Nanotechnology Complexes, Nanotechnology
Gwiy-Sang Chung
Silicon Carbide Technology for MEMS
Alessandro Veneroni
Silicon Carbide Multiscale Reactor Modeling
Ilaria Lombardi
Template-Assisted Growth of Inorganic Nanostructures
Guohua Xu
Conducting Self Assembled Layers for MEMS Anti-stiction
Gianluca Valente
Silicon Carbide Deposition Modeling through Quantum Mechanical Calculation for the Estimation of the Adsorbtion Kinetics of the Precursor on the Surface
Luca Magagnin
Deposition of Cu and Au on Silicon, integration of metals in MEMS technology

 Undergraduate Researchers

Gina Zaghi
Makato Lalwani
Ernest Chen
Zizhou "Joe" Zhao
Nisha Mair
Mun Sek Kim
Yunsie Chung
Robert Claus
Jennie Zheng
Aman Agrawala
Angela Tsao
Joe Trisnadi
Phoebe Tengdin
Brian Lee
Akshita Dutta
Maxwell Fisch 

Francesca Limanto
Anton Suwandi
Amir Payamipour
Rosanna Lim
Charles Dhong
Karthick Murugappan
Mengwen Zhang
Gabriella Lestari
Carolina Li
Qi Zuo
Chris Leksono
Jason Daniel Evans
Edgar Felipe Garay
Jason Kawasaki
Brent Rich
Katherine Stapleton
Victor Chan

Gail Hernandez
Justin Opatkiewicz
Connie Chung
Nicolas Londono
Christina Lee
Selene Koo
Ajay Kshatriya
Usmam bin Habib al Paki
Anna Remennik
Siswanto Sutanto
Amol Upadhye
Christina Yau
Oranna Yauw
Erfan Gunawan
Chia Wen