About us

Lympstone History Society holds talks, visits and exhibitions throughout the year. We send out newsletters to our members outlining future events.  The History Society nurtures a growing archive collection of Lympstone in the form of documents and photographs. We share information we have actively researched or have had donated to us on Lympstone’s local and family histories, and we promote history within the local community, showing that history should be educational and entertaining, and we occasionally produced publications about local history. Your membership helps us maintain these aims.

About Lympstone Village
Lympstone is a thriving village, nestled into its environment and exuding a sense of its centuries of history. It stretches from Lympstone Common, with its ancient burial mounds, to the River Exe where the Vikings sailed past on their way to attack Exeter, according to a report in the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle. In modern times, the river guided the path of the Luftwaffe when they too attacked Exeter, during WWII.

Lympstone is a village of two halves. The lower village retains its strong connection to the River Exe and has a history of shipbuilding, trade with Newfoundland, and whaling – the harbour is largely used for leisure sailing today. The second half is largely common land, and land used for farming, which continues to this day.

The parish church sits between the lower and higher village, recording the baptisms, marriages and burials of the community. The church tower, looks out over the school and village hall, and also down towards the former Mill (now a private dwelling) which sits in the valley of Wotton Brook. The Mill (or Mills, as it had two millstones) ground cereals into flour and malt, and replaced the former 'Williams Mill' (site unknown) of 1254.

Many people come to the village just to relax while watching the boats and enjoying the view out over the estuary, towards Powderham and the Haldon Hills.