News‎ > ‎

Dex Webster Becomes Youngest Louisiana Chess Champion!

posted Dec 13, 2016, 9:09 AM by Louisiana Chess

Completes Dominant Summer while Eli Karp wins Blitz Championship

In the second consecutive state championship that was the largest in recent memory, 74 players competed in the 2016 Louisiana State Chess Championship over Labor Day Weekend at the Hilton New Orleans Airport.  By the time the weekend was over, Dex Webster left no doubt as to who was the best chess player in Louisiana this summer, vanquishing the field by a full point with a score of 6.5/7, and completing a tri-fecta that included winning the Louisiana Scholastic Championship and the Paul Morphy Open.  With the victory, Webster, whose original long-time coach was outgoing LCA Scholastic Coordinator Ken Ferguson, became the youngest Louisiana Chess Champion by approximately three years!  And for those of the previous generation looking for a glimmer of hope against the kids: do not bother, there are not any.  The only player to take half a point off of Webster was his contemporary, Eli Karp.  Karp also took home the state blitz championship after the two-time defending champion (Webster) declined to play in order to concentrate on the main event. 

David Gaston, Nick Matta, Stephen Curry of Mississippi, and Ju Hyung Ahn of Texas tied for second with scores of 5.5/7.  Curry took the first place Under 2000 prize.  2005 Champion Eryk Hargrove, Karp, Peter Boris of New York, and Huy Nguyen tied for sixth with scores of 5/7.  Hargrove and Boris split the second place Under 2000 prize for their efforts while Nguyen won the first place Under 1800 prize.   The second place Under 1800 prize was split four ways between Zachary Couvillion of Mississippi, Matthew So of Texas, David Mooney of Mississippi, and Michael Crochet, all finishing with scores of 4.5/7.  With scores of 4/7, Donald Miester, Jr., Prokkawn Majumdar, and David Webster split the two Under 1600 prizes.  And rounding out the prize winners, Benson Schexnaydre of Mississippi and Wilton Neal Watts split the two Under 1300/Unrated prizes with scores of 3.5/7.

Congratulations to State Champion Dex Webster on his record-setting performance!  Congratulations also to Blitz Champion Eli Karp.  Special thanks are offered to Jean Troendle, Korey Kormick, and the entire Cajun Chess crew for organizing and directing an excellent tournament.  Full details of the tournament, with some games, will be included in the next bulletin.