What is Yoga?

"Yoga is a way to restore our lost wholeness, our integrity as complete human beings by unifying the personality around a center that is silent, unbounded, spacious and joyful.

The techniques of yoga are methods of purifying the nervous system so that it can reflect a greater degree of consciousness and our lives can become an increasingly positive force in the world.

If these techniques are correctly practiced, the whole nervous system is revitalized-the body enjoys better health and more energy, the rested mind is freed from the burden of past experience and perception is restored to its primal freshness.  Thought and activity become coherent and integrated, life becomes richer and more fulfilling.

"Yoga is a catalyst that allows us to grow in whichever direction is natural and life supporting."
fYoga Sutras of Patanjali, as translated by Alistar Shearer

Benefits

These are just some of the benefits of a regular yoga practice
Better breathing | Flexibility | Strength | Confidence | Balance | Stress reduction | Toning | Stamina | Self-awareness | Better posture | Self-discipline | Poise | Grace | Increased energy levels | Vitality | Sense of well-being | Relaxation | Inner peace | Improved circulation | Positivity | Cardiovascular conditioning | Focus and ..........Fun!

Hints

Some helpful guidelines
Wear comfortable clothing that will allow your body to move and breathe freely
It is advisable to practice yoga on an empty stomach
Please arrive at least 10 minutes before class to relax and settle
Doors close promptly 5 minutes before class commences
Remember to switch off cellphones
We work barefoot - you can leave your shoes (and your day!) outside
Please respect fellow Yogis and the tranquility of the yoga space by remaining quiet before and after class
Work within your own limits, at your own pace
Honour and respect yourself

Links 

Yoga Alliance (USA) www.yogaalliance.org

BKS Iyengar Institute South Africa www.bksiyengar.co.za/
David Jacobs (Iyengar Yoga) www.yogawithdavid.blogspot.com

Africa Yoga Teacher Training www.africayoga.com

Radiantly Alive Teacher Training (Bali) www.radiantlyalive.com

Yoga Within Noordhoek ( Yoga Studio) www.yogawithin.org
Shanti Cape Town (Ashtanga Yoga Studio) www.shanticapetown.co.za
Haum of Yoga Johannesburg (Yoga Studio) www.haumofyoga.co.za
Eve Cunard (Yoga in Plettenberg Bay) www.eveyoga.withtank.com/

Products

Yoga equipment available for sale at the Studio.

Photography

Some of the beautiful images on this website captured by Hannah Mentz www.hannahmentz.com

Holistic Health

Body Awareness & Massage in Knysna (Kheli Pama) www.bodyawareness.co.za
Homeopathic Healthcare in Knysna (Dr. Geraldine Robson-Parsons www.homeopathic-healthcare.com





"You cannot do yoga. Yoga is your natural state. 
What you can do are yoga exercises, which may reveal to you where you are
resisting your natural state"  Sharon Gannon