Loanhead and District Community Council 

Loanhead and District Community Council meets on the 2nd Tuesday each month, at 7:30pm in Loanhead Town Hall, Academy Lane, Loanhead.

Please use our new website

last updated 10 Mar 2011 

Internal links

This link only takes you to pre 2011 minutes. For the latest minutes, see our new website.

Loanhead and District Community Council serves the town of Loanhead and the village of Straiton, the communities along the west side of the A701 between the City bypass and the mobile home parks on the west side of the A701, and the mobile home parks themselves.


The Community Council is an elected body comprising 17 members, at least two of whom should come from the mobile home parks of Nivensknowe Park, Pentland Park and Straiton Park.


Elections for membership are held every three years, in November.  To be eligible for membership, candidates must

  • reside within the Community Council area, 
  • be registered on the Electoral Register.

Candidates must have two proposers, each of whom also meets the above criteria. The proposals should be made on the Nomination Form which can be downloaded here, and submitted to the Returning Officer by the Friday preceding the date of the election.


The election of the current Community Council took place at the AGM, on Tuesday 11th November 2008.


There being only 8 nominees for a total of 17 vacancies, all nominees were returned unopposed. 

The current office bearers, elected at the AGM by the membership, are:-


Chairman                    Pat Kenny

Vice-Chairman           Bruce Hogg

Treasurer                    Harry Fisher

Secretary                    (position vacant)


The Community Council meetings take place on the second Tuesday each month in Loanhead Town Hall, Academy Lane, and start at 7:30 pm. Meetings are open to members of the public.