The LMSS‎ > ‎

How we're run

How We're Run...

The Liverpool Medical Students' Society is a Registered Charity (No.1167764). We are governed by our Articles of Association which establish what the objectives of the Society are, and how we will accomplish our goals. You can find our governing document available to download on this page.

The Officers of the Society oversee the day-to-day running of the Society, supported by their Full Committee of 39 Medical Students. The LMSS also has a Board of Trustees, 14 senior Members and Doctors, who oversee the Society and make sure it is run lawfully.

The Board of Trustees
There are 14 Trustees of the Society. They are appointed according to the regulations set out in the Articles of Association, and serve 5 year terms of office. Our Board of Trustees is as follows:
  • Mr. Michael R. Zeiderman BSc MBChB ChM FRCS LLM (Chair of the Board of Trustees)
  • Mr. Ronald J. Templeton FIBMS 
  • Professor John Richard Ashton C.B.E. M.B.B.S. M.Sc. FRCPsych FFPH FFSRH FRCP FRCP(Ed) FRSM FRSA
  • Dr. Clare M. Littlewood MBChB MA MRCGP FRCP
  • Dr. John A. Hussey MBChB DRCOG FRCGP
  • Dr. Philip D. Batty MBChB MRCGP DObstRCOG
  • Mr. Paul Fitzsimons LLB IPLS
  • Dr. Esther J. Cole MBChB BA MRCP
  • Dr. Samuel (Barry) J. Green MBChB MRes
  • Dr. Abigail E. Caffel MBChB
  • Dr. Kieran Kelly MBChB
  • Mr. Thomas J. H. Powell
  • Miss. Elizabeth (Lizzie) C. Lane
  • Mr. Thomas A. Capstick
If you wish to contact the Board of Trustees, please contact the Clerk to the Trustees, who is the Secretary of the Society, at, or post to our registered office.