Fair Housing‎ > ‎

Protected Classes

Why Are There Protected Classes under the Fair Housing Laws?

Protected Classes were created under the Fair Housing Laws because of HISTORIC DISCRIMINATION.

There are 7 Federally Protected Classes
  • race
  • color
  • religion
  • national origin
  • gender (female headed households)
  • familial status (families/households with children under 18 years of age)
  • disability

There are 2 additional protected classes under Ohio's Fair Housing Act (ORC 4112)
  • ancestry
  • military status

There are two classes which have "regulatory" protection in Federally assisted housing as if they were protected classes
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT)
  • Victims of Domestic Violence

Certain classes of people where treated differently in real estate transactions because of their demographic group...not because of behavior or values.

 Three clusters of protected classes

Covered by Federal Fair Housing Acts which were passed by Congress

Covered by the Ohio Fair Housing Act IN ADDITION to Federally protected classes

Protections for classes in Federally Funded programs
Who's covered
In the Federal Fair Housing Act there is an exemption for properties with four or fewer units where the owner of the property lives in one of the units.  This is the so called "mrs. murphy" exemption.  NOTE THAT THIS DOES NOT APPLY UNDER OHIO LAW. 

Senior Only Housing

 Notes & Links

Subpages (1): LGBT protections