Tenth anniversary meeting

The Live Algorithms for Music network is celebrating its tenth anniversary with a one day symposium to be held as part of the AISB annual convention. The meeting will take place at Goldsmiths, University of London, on April 2nd, 2014.

LAM is an inter-disciplinary nexus for musicians (computer and acoustic), computer and  cognitive scientists, interaction specialists, philosophers, psychologists and all others who are intent on pursuing and contributing to the goal of an autonomous machine improvisor. 

The live algorithm interacts with human performers by listening to contributions in its musical environment, preparing musical material that has at least an element of originality and appropriateness, and delivering this material back into the environment.  The intention is to (a) provide a meaningful experience of interacting with a machine intelligence and (b) explore novel musical spaces. The aim is not to simulate the role of human musicians but to find new possibilities for musical expression. The quest is driven by algorithmic processes and models of cognition, creativity and interaction. There are more details in an article from the AISB newsletter.

The symposium will take place in a single day during the AISB symposium and will consist of a session of presentations of papers, a demonstration session, and an evening concert.

Any research topic that contributes to the Live Algorithm agenda is welcome; for example
  • Computational creativity
  • Generative music
  • Machine listening/analysis
  • Music Information Retrieval
  • Human/Computer interaction
  • Machine consciousness
  • Theory and practice of human/computer improvisation
  • Models of human communication
  • Interaction design 
  • Sound synthesis for real time applications
Submission must be sent via EasyChair. Templates are available here.

We request that full papers are limited to eight pages. An extended abstract of up to four pages and a link to online examples are required for the demonstration session. Performance notes of up to four pages, links to online examples and a list of technical requirements are required for performance applications (you can also provide details of any relevant partnership with a particular musician).

Each application will receive at least two reviews. Selected papers, extended abstracts and performance notes will be published in the general proceedings of the AISB convention (with ISBN), with the proviso that at least ONE author attends the symposium in order to present the paper and participate in general symposium activities.

Applicants are welcome to participate in more than one session; please let us know if this is the case. 

i       Submission deadline: 3rd January 2014
ii      Notification of acceptance/rejection decisions: 3rd February 2014
iii     Final version of accepted papers/abstracts/performance notes (camera ready copy): 24th February 2014
iv      Convention: 1-4 April 2014 (confirmation of LAM 2014 symposium tbc)

Please note that there will be separate proceedings for each symposium, produced before the convention. Each delegate will receive a memory stick containing the proceedings of all the symposia. In previous years there have been awards for the best student paper, and limited student bursaries. These details will be circulated as and when they become available. Authors of a selection of the best papers will be invited to submit an extended version of the work to a journal special issue. 

Tim Blackwell
Department of Computing
Goldsmiths, University of London
New Cross
London SE14 6NW

Michael Young
Department of Music
Goldsmiths, University of London
New Cross
London SE14 6NW

Gerard Assayag, IRCAM France
Oliver Bown, University of Sydney, Australia
Nick Collins, Durham University
Roger Dean, MARCS Institute, University of Western Sydney
Bill Hsu, San Fransisco State University, USA
George E. Lewis, Columbia University, USA
Alex McLean, University of Leeds
Eduardo Miranda, Plymouth University
Francois Pachet, SONY, France
Philipe Pasquier, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Andrew Robertson, Queen Mary, University of London
Diemo Shwarz, IRCAM France
Dan Stowell, Queen Mary, University of London
Atau Tanaka, Goldsmiths, University London