Bear Rank

The Bear rank is for scouts who are in third grade or age nine. To earn the rank of Bear, your scout will follow the adventures in the Bear Handbook. Below is an outline of the material covered in the handbook.
To begin the path to the Bear Rank, a scout must first complete the Bobcat Rank. The Bobcat Rank is outlined at the beginning of every handbook in Cub Scouts. Once completed and reported to your Den Leader, the Bobcat Badge will be awarded at the next Monthly Pack Meeting. 
Note: Once a Bobcat, always a Bobcat... Once your scout earns the Bobcat Badge it can be skipped in other handbooks as they advance through the ranks. 
To earn the Bear Rank the Bear scout must complete 6 Required Adventures, 1 Elective Adventure, exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent's Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for their age.

Bear Rank - Required Adventures

The Cub Scout ranks are attained by each scout completing Adventures that are found in their handbook. The 6 required adventures for a Wolf scout are:
  1. Bear Claws
  2. Bear Necessities
  3. Fellowship and Duty to God
  4. Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
  5. Baloo the Builder
  6. Paws For Action 
  • Bear Claws
  • Bear Necessities
    • Learn how to plan for an overnight camp, create and perform a song/skit at a campfire, and apply skills learned during an overnight camp. 
  • Fellowship and Duty to God
    • Practice your duty to god I different ways.
  • Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
    • Go hiking, and identify six signs that any mammals, birds, insects, reptiles, or plants are living nearby the place where you choose to hike. Visit a zoo or wildlife refuge and learn about vegetables and gardening.
  • Baloo the Builder
    • Learn to use tools and build both useful and fun projects
  • Paws For Action
    • Learn about famous Americans, and Americans who work in service of their local government and municipalities, and then complete a service project of your own.
Bear - Elective Adventures 

After completing the 6 required Bear Adventures your scout will need to complete one of the Bear Electives to fulfill the Adventures required to be awarded the Bear Rank badge. 

  • A World of Sound
  • A Bear Goes Fishing
  • Bear Carnival
  • Bear Picnic Basket
  • Beat of the Drum
  • Critter Care
  • Forensics
  • Make it Move
  • Marble Madness
  • Roaring Laughter
  • Robotics
  • Salmon Run
  • Super Science

NoteSome activities are done at home and signed off by the parent after the boy has completed the task. You can signoff the activity in the handbook or in Scoutbook, which should be shown to the Den Leader who then approves the progress in Scoutbook to track your scout's progress. You must report your scouts progress in a timely manner. 

NoteThere are no performance requirements for completing tasks. Simply participating and doing one's best in an activity constitutes completion.

Note to Parents
  1. Your Den Leader will track Adventure activity by each Scout.
  2. Some activities are done at home and signed off by the parent "Akela" after the boy has completed the task. 
  3. Use your handbook to learn about each of the Adventure activities and update Scoutbook to track the activities your scout completes.
  4. Start a Scout Folder to store papers and projects as your scout completes them.
  5. Bring the Handbook (and folder) to each Den meeting to have your activities recorded by the Den Leader.
Our Pack uses the Scoutbook website to track the progress of your scout.  The Den Leaders have access to Scoutbook so make sure your child gets credit for completing activities.  We also use Scoutbook to purchase appropriate badges and awards.  Make sure your scout is getting proper credit (by working with your Den Leader) and the recognition will come at Pack Meetings.  Scoutbook will track your child's progress for as long as they are in the Pack.