LHD Logo

OA - Order of the Arrow

What is the OA?

The Order of the Arrow, or “OA,” is a service organization and the national honor society of the Boy Scouts of America.

After meeting the eligibility requirements to be included on a ballot, new youth members are elected from within their Troops and recognized as those who best live the ideals of brotherhood, cheerfulness, and service. Under the guidance of selected capable adults, OA members under 21 provide leadership to the organization.

About the OA

For 100 years, the Order of the Arrow (OA) has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. This recognition provides encouragement for others to live these ideals as well. Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit, promoting year-round and long term resident camping, and providing cheerful service to others. OA service, activities, adventures, and training for youth and adults are models of quality leadership development and programming that enrich and help to extend Scouting to America's youth.


The Order of the Arrow was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America. It became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934. In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA's national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the Boy Scouts of America. In 1998, the Order of the Arrow became recognized as Scouting's National Honor Society when it expanded its reach beyond camping to include broader service to Scouting and the community.


The Order of the Arrow has three distinct organizational levels; lodges, sections, and regions. 


The Order of the Arrow is led by youth leadership (national chief, national vice chief), the national Order of the Arrow chairman, the OA director and the OA specialist. In addition the national Order of the Arrow committee provides direction for the yearly program.

The OA serving the Community

The OA has enjoyed a long history of service.
Founded in 1915 by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, the OA emphasizes servant-leadership nationwide in nearly 300 Boy Scout councils. In addition to local community service, the OA provides service on a national level, too.

In 2008, for example, the Order of the Arrow improved five national parks during an event called “ArrowCorps5.”

In 2011, SummitCorps, “The New River Experience” was an OA service adventure in partnership with the U.S. National Park Service.  Modeled after ArrowCorps5, 1,404 Arrowmen served during four one-week sessions throughout July 2011.  Together, they built 12.8 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails in the New River Gorge National River National Park located in West Virginia. The New River Gorge is located adjacent to the new Summit Bechtel Family National Scout Reserve, the new permanent home for BSA National Scout Jamborees. The new trail was aptly named “Arrowhead Trail”.

SummitCorps was the largest youth volunteer project in the history of the National Park Service (78,544 hours of service valued at more than $1.6 Million). The West Virginia National Guards’ Glen Jean Armory served as the Incident Command Center. In addition to trail building, $25,200 worth of non-perishable food was donated to local food pantries and $15,409.50 raised through patch auctions was donated to local charities, helping to build a climate of trust, gratitude, and bonds of friendship with the people of West Virginia.

In 2013, the OA coordinated days of service at the National Scout
Jamboree, resulting in significant service to the Mount Hope, West

Virginia area.

The Order of the Arrow recruited several hundred Arrowmen to serve on the Project 2013 corps which included the Jamboree Trek Guides, the OA Service Corps, and the Day of Service Guides. The corps provided support to the 2013 National Scout Jamboree working in subcamps, program areas and at the arena shows.

The Order also hosted the OA Indian Village which provided an opportunity to engage Scouts in the American Indian culture including regalia and dance of tribes from around the country. In the evenings, the Order led the staff recreation area providing evening events, programs, and recreation for the jamboree staff.

PRISM and NEXT 2016
During the summer of 2016 several Arrowmen from Aal-Pa-Tah lodge participated in the PRISM event at the Summit.  Each Lodge was only given a few tickets to attend.

Later in the summer a few Aal-Pa-Tah Arrowmen also attended the NEXT event (some as Delegates and some as Staff) in Indiana.  NEXT was a planning conference for the 2018 NOAC which will be held in Bloomington, IN.  Delegates of NEXT also provided valuable input towards the future of the OA

Check out NOAC 2015 at this link - http://www.noac2015.org


What is an Arrowman?

An Arrowman is a youth or adult member in the OA.

What is our local Lodge?

Aal-Pa-Tah #237
is the OA Lodge serving the Gulf Stream Council.


Within a local Lodge are Chapters.
What is our Chapter?

The Lighthouse District is served by the
Wyhome-Pa-Tah chapter.

What is our section?
Our section is S-4

What is our region?
Our region is the Southern Region

What is NOAC?

NOAC is the National Order of the Arrow Conference.  NOAC is held every few years and Lodges from all over the country send contingents of their members.  Arrowmen from the various Lodges also attend to serve on staff at NOAC.

The 2015 NOAC celebrated the Order of the Arrow's 100th anniversary!

On 7/30/15 a contingent of Aal-Pa-Tah Scouts and Scouters started their trek to Michigan to attend NOAC 2015.  There were many special activities during the event as well as activities the contingent participated in going to and from NOAC.  A number of  Arrowman, Scouts and Scouters, from the Gulf Stream Council also served on staff at this event.  Total attendance was estimated to be 15,000!

Check out www.noac2015 for highlights!