LHD Logo
 Boy Scout Awards

Reference material about some of the awards and recognitions available to Boy Scouts.

Conservation Good Turn

The Conservation Good Turn is an opportunity for Cub Scout packs, Boy Scout troops, Varsity Scout teams, and Venturing crews to join with conservation or environmental organizations (federal, state, local, or private) to carry out a conservation Good Turn in their home communities.

The Principles of Leave No Trace

Leave No Trace is an awareness of our impact on the environment that teaches us to respect the rights of other users of the outdoors as well as future generations.

The National Outdoor Achievement Award

The National Outdoor Achievement Award (No. 430-509) recognizes Boy Scouts/Varsity Scouts that excel in outdoor participation. The award consists of five areas of emphasis (camping, aquatics, hiking, riding and adventure) with rigorous requirements to earn each segment. For Scouts looking for an extra challenge, the National Medal for Outdoor Achievement. This challenging award requires earning at least three of the National Outdoor Achievement segments, planning and leading a trek, earning Wilderness First Aid and becoming a Leave No Trace Trainer as well as several other requirements.

Keep America Beautiful Inc. Hometown U.S.A. Award

The Hometown U.S.A. Award is a joint program between Keep America Beautiful Inc. (KAB) and the Boy Scouts of America. It is designed to give recognition to the outstanding efforts of Scouts in their communities in regard to citizenship and environmental improvement.

William T. Hornaday Awards

The goal of this awards program is to encourage and recognize outstanding efforts in natural resource conservation and environmental protection.

Emergency Preparedness BSA

The emergencies of today's world demand more than ever that our young people and adults be trained as individuals and as units to meet emergency situations. This program fosters skills in our youth and adult members so that they can participate effectively in this crucial service to their families, communities, and nation.

Religious Emblems

To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, religious groups have developed religious emblems programs.

Etz Chaim Award

The Etz Chaim (Tree of Life) Award is designed for Boy Scouts ages 14 to 17 and Venturers ages 14 to 20. The purpose of the award is to encourage the young adult to explore adult Jewish roles in the context of family, community, and Jewish people.

International Recognitions

Insignia and awards are available to show your involvement in the world Scouting movement.

U.S. Army Youth Certificate of Recognition

Scouts who achieve the rank of Eagle are entitled to receive the U.S. Army Youth Certificate of Recognition at their Court of Honor ceremony.

Spirit of the Eagle Award

The Boy Scouts of America has created the Spirit of the Eagle Award as an honorary, posthumous special recognition for a registered youth member who has lost his or her life in an accident or through illness. Spirit of the Eagle Award Application

(For a complete list, go to the official BSA site - http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/Awards_Central.aspx)

Boy Scout Outdoor Awards

National Outdoor Badges—The five National Outdoor Badges recognize a Boy Scout or Varsity Scout who demonstrates both knowledge and experience in camping, hiking, aquatics, riding, or adventure. Scouts earning the National Outdoor Badges have demonstrated that they are knowledgeable, safe, and comfortable in the outdoor activity covered by the badge. 


Complete Angler Recognition—The Complete Angler recognition was established by the BSA’s Nationa l Fishing Task Force in October 2014 to honor well-rounded youth anglers. Scouts who have earned the Fishing, Fly-Fishing, and Fish and Wildlife Management merit badges can earn the award. Read more .

National Outdoor Challenge Application


Totin' Chip—This card, No. 34234, indicates that a Scout has demonstrated proper handling, care, and use of the pocketknife, ax, and saw.


Paul Bunyan Woodsman—This card, No. 34235, and corresponding patch recognize that a Scout has used woods tools skills to accomplish one of several beneficial projects.


Firem'n Chit—This card, No. 34236, signifies that a Scout has read the fire use and safety section in the Boy Scout Handbook and accepts responsibility for fire safety.


Historic Trails Award—This embroidered patch, No. 00188, or leather patch, No. 00244, is earned when a Scout studies about a historic trail, hikes and camps along it, performs a public service project, and completes the Historic Trails Award application, No. 34408.


50-Miler Award—This embroidered patch, No. 00191, or leather patch, No. 00241, is earned when a Scout hikes, paddles, bikes, or rides horseback for at least 50 miles over five consecutive days, performs 10 hours of service, and completes the 50-Miler Award application, No. 34408.


Keep America Beautiful—A Scout who earns three merit badges from a list of 12 choices, completes a minimum of eight hours of community service, and completes the Keep America Beautiful Award application, No. 21-377, is eligible to wear the Hometown USA award patch, No. 00356.


World Conservation Award—This distinctive panda patch, No. 00140, is earned by Scouts who complete the Environmental Science, Citizenship in the World, and either Soil and Water Conservation or Fish and Wildlife Management merit badges, and complete the World Conservation Award application, No. 21-156.


Conservation Good Turn—Scout units that perform a meaningful conservation project and complete the Conservation Good Turn Award application, No. 21-386, may be awarded a Conservation Good Turn certificate, No. 21-389.


Hornaday Awards—There are seven different William T. Hornaday Awards that may be earned by Boy Scouts, Varsity Scouts, and adult Scouters. The Silver and Bronze medals are the highest, most distinguished youth conservation awards. Each medal requires earning a number of merit badges and performing three (Bronze) or four (Silver) conservation projects that demonstrate research, planning, leadership, involvement of others, and a positive impact on the local community. Click here for brochure .


Click here for more information about the Hornaday Awards.

Aquatics Awards

Boardsailing BSA
Kayaking BSA
BSA Lifeguard
Mile Swim BSA

Scuba BSA
Snorkeling BSA
BSA Stand Up